This past Christmas season I was introduced to a song that I fell in love with; it’s entitled “Almost, Not Yet, Already” by Rain for Roots and it is an Advent song.

In the song, the writer imagines herself as a mother and how she relates to Mary as the Mother of the Messiah, the coming King. It’s a powerful and joyful imaginative prayer song that explores the complex nature of our own redemption in the birth, life, death and resurrection of Jesus.

All things in this world bear the image of our Creator (Romans 1). There is birth, life, death, and resurrection all around us all the time if we will have eyes to see and ears to hear it. I loved how this song didn’t just apply to the season of Advent and Christmas, but to all of life. There is so much in our daily life that bears a present truth, a past truth, and a truth that is to come.

It’s now spring and the season of Lent where I live in the mid-west. The Earth is waking up all around me and as a Christian, I am walking in a season with God’s people where we explore the death of Christ (past truth) and the depths of our own sinfulness (past and present truth) through the season of Lent. But my favorite part of Lent is that Sundays are excluded from any kind of restraint or fasting that might be done on our parts. Sundays are “feast days” where we rejoice in the resurrection (present and future truth!) even though we are choosing to look at our need for it to have occurred at all.

Through this, God is inviting me to think of my own life and season; the things that are true of the past, true of the present and true of the future. I’m almost done with my certificate in Spiritual Direction! I’ve not yet opened my practice, but I’ve already seen God moving me and affirming me in that direction as I have met with my interns/practice directees (clients) for 2 years now! God has planted all kinds of little seeds of faith as I’ve walked forward and as I wait for how and what will unfold.

No matter if you have engaged with the season of Lent in your faith journey before or not, there is an invitation for you from God in this. Our faith journey is not static-it is moving, transforming, journeying and active. There is a past truth, a present truth, and a future truth God invites you to consider with Him.

Almost, not yet, already.

May you take some time today to consider God’s invitation to you on your journey.

Leave a comment