Today, I have been in need of a day that is gentle to and with my soul. I’ve needed a day where I recognize my own brokenness and yet I call myself to courage in God to interact and engage with the things that still need to be done. (Because life doesn’t stop when our emotions swell!) Not much will be accomplished in a tangible way today; but I am learning that what will be accomplished will give me the strength to meet tomorrow with all the things it holds; good or bad, faithful and true or full of lies and destruction.

I needed to be with myself and my God a bit today. I needed to look at the ugly reality of some things that feel as if they are in my way and a hindrance to any kind of forward momentum. I needed to feel my feelings today, lament to God the stuff that wearies and weighs and burdens me and I needed to acknowledge the stuff that really, really, really sucks. So much of life sucks guys.

As I gear up for the second movement of the day, morning has passed and afternoon is coming on thick (i.e. a flurry of activity is on the horizon), I am stopping to reflect and remind myself of what is true before I start to do some tangible things. I am grounding myself in preparation for what is coming in the minutes and hours and days ahead. And it’s good. It’s not perfect. But it’s true and it’s grounding me in the best of ways.

So if you are a Mom in need of being called to good, here are the things that are calling me to be true and soft and gentle and brave and strong-may they call you to be likewise and have courage for things to change (even if that change is only within your own soul).


“You have made us for yourself and we are restless until we find our rest in you.” St. Augustine

 

“Bold love is the tenacious, irrepressible energy to do good in order to surprise and conquer evil.” Allender

 

“I can offer to others only what I have experienced.” (looking at Luke 7:41-43) Allender

 

“The task of growth is to pursue an unflinching honesty about self, world, and God, no matter what the results compel us to face or give up.” Allender

 

“if you want the real deal, if you want the life and freedom that Jesus offers, then you are going to have to break free of this religious fog in particular. “It is for freedom that Christ has set us free. Stand firm, then, and do not let yourselves be burdened again by a yoke of slavery” (Gal. 5:1). So here’s a bottom-line test to expose the Religious Spirit: If it doesn’t bring freedom and it doesn’t bring life, it’s not Christianity. If it doesn’t restore the image of God and rejoice in the heart, it’s not Christianity. ” John Eldredge from Waking the Dead

 

“Trust in formulas is really dependence upon ourselves to carry out a procedure correctly. But anyone who really understands the grace of the gospel knows that we cannot take personal credit for any spiritual accomplishments. We are totally God’s workmanship (Eph 2:10; Phil 2:13; 1:6) and everything good in our lives is a gift from Him (James 1:17). We can do absolutely nothing by ourselves for which we can take credit (Eph 2:8-9; Gal 6:14; Rom 4:2; 1 Cor 1:28-31; 2 Cor 11:30). Yet many of us lean toward a formulaic mentality, because our fallen natures are drawn toward self-reliance. We want to feel that by our own efforts (works) we have achieved something that will make us acceptable to God – by nature we are legalistic.” Reb Bradley in Homeschool Blindspots

 

“Rejecting joy to stand in solidarity with the suffering doesn’t rescue the suffering. The converse does. The brave who focus on all things good and all things beautiful and all things true, even in the small, who give thanks for it and discover joy even in the here and now, they are the change agents who bring fullest Light to all the world.” Ann Voskamp, 1000 Gifts

 

“Hope has two beautiful daughters. Their names are anger and courage; anger at the way things are, and courage to see that they do not remain the way they are.”~ Augustine of Hippo


 

Leave a Reply

