I was a psych minor in college. One of the first things I was told by my instructors is how important it is to “know thyself”. I can honestly say that this has guided me through a lot of areas in life; both in my strengths and my weaknesses. When my family and I began attending our current church home three years ago, I was delighted to hear that there’s some Meyers-Briggs jargon in getting plugged in there. (Side Note: which really, how much different is that than your disc-test or your spiritual gifts test? We all categorize our chaos in different ways.)

I am an ENFJ. Finding this out about myself has helped me to love who I am, accept how I was made and it has helped me to stretch in areas I see (and those I don’t) are in need of growth. From a spiritual perspective, it has helped me to pray that I would have good balance both in my heart and in my actions. A friend laughed and told me recently that there is a prayer chart for each personality on the Myers Briggs. That idea was both funny and intriguing to me so I looked it up. Sure enough (here it is if you want to find yours), my prayer for my personality is right on: God help me to do only what I can and trust you for the rest. Do you mind putting that in writing?

I laughed so loud (which if you know me is pretty loud) when I read this prayer. What a riot! Today, I’m wrestling with my impulsiveness. How what I want to do is not what I should do or even what I have so much time to do. I have many things on the schedule over the next few days which are others-focused (not surprising given my personality) and those things are fun for me and make me feel alive and happy. But I REALLY want to do some other things all by my sweet little self. I might even need to if I want to recharge.

Just as my prayer tagline above is “do you mind putting that in writing?” I am in need of putting THIS in writing because I am almost guaranteed to see something shiny and move on in my fast-paced way to whatever my next project is…or just ignore the tug and keep trucking.

Is it wrong to have a list for your lists?

Today may I cling to Psalm 28:7 and accept the help so generously offered to me:

The Lord is my strength and shield.
    I trust him with all my heart.
He helps me, and my heart is filled with joy.
    I burst out in songs of thanksgiving.

 

One thought on “Impulsive

  1. Ha! The prayers are awesome! My boss is an ENFP, not too different from yourself and sometimes a challenge for an ESTJ. I love learning to see people as they are and learning to value their unique contributions. What I always like to remind myself of is we all need each other to truly see the beauty of the world around us!

Leave a Reply

