I already mentioned in my weekend post how I am grateful for this book I picked up by one of my fav authors, Shauna Niequist. And just to tempt you a little more if you haven’t bought the book yet (come on!), or even read it yet, here is a glimpse of some words she penned that were SO powerful and encouraging to me. Of course, they will tie to what I am grateful for today. Read on dear readers!

Shauna Niequist-Cold Tangerines

On Swimming

“Friendship is acting out God’s love for people in tangible ways. We were made to represent the love of God in each other’s lives, so that each person we walk through life with has a more profound sense of God’s love for them. Friendship is an opportunity to act on God’s behalf in the lives of the people that we’re close to, reminding each other who God is. When we do the hard, intimate work of friendship, we bring a little more of the divine into daily life. We get to remind one another about the bigger, more beautiful picture that we can’t always see from where we are.

True friendship is a sacred, important thing, and it happens when we drop down into that deeper level of who we are, when we cross over into the broken, fragile parts of ourselves. We have to give something up in order to get friendship like that. We have to give up our need to be perceived as perfect. We have to give up our ability to control what people think of us. We have to overcome the fear that when they see the depths of who we are, they’ll leave. But what we give up is nothing in comparison to what this kind of friendship gives to us. Friendship is about risk. Love is about risk. If we can control it and manage it and manufacture it, then it’s something else, but if it’s really love, really friendship, it’s a little scary around the edges.

Annette shows me over and over that the closer you get to someone, the more that friendship gives you and the more force and power it has to make your life bigger and richer.  Maybe some of what we’re doing here is representing the goodness and love of God in tangible ways. You’re showing that love to the people in your life and then sometimes they’re showing it to you, and when your friend isn’t going to make it to the edge of the pool, you jump in with your clothes on and swim next to her.”

Today, I am grateful for my friends Crystal Metcalfe and Amy Svolopoulos. These women have known me the longest and the deepest. They have journeyed with me through my darkest days and I have journeyed with them on many a dark day. It’s almost like we took marriage vows. Through sickness and in health, in times of abundance and times of want, in times of joy and times of sorrow-we have been committed to one another. When we forget who we are, we remind each other. When we have a problem we quote movie lines to each other, sing old song lyrics from the 80’s/90’s, make sarcastic comments, laugh, cry, hold, pray and encourage one another. We slap each other on the butt, we talk about our fears and our embarrassing moments, we strategize and we even argue and push on the tender spots in each other’s lives. We take the risk to love each other deeply and to be seen. To be very, very, very vulnerable. (Did I mention that Amy watched me as I attempted to nurse by baby for the first times and Crystal actually helped me deliver Chase? We’ve seen it all.) Did I mention we are very vulnerable with one another? Ahem….

Anyway. I’m grateful for them specifically today. I’m also grateful for the deep and new-er friendships I have begun to journey with/on. But I already said that…I hope this isn’t cheating….

Thanks ladies, for being the girls I want to jump in the pool with, for being the girls I know would jump in the pool with me whenever I need it. May we encourage one another and cheer each other on!

Have you bought/read that book yet? Sheesh!

2 thoughts on “November 18

  1. I love you! I feel helpless sometimes from over here because I just don’t think people in St. Louis realize how special and beautiful you are. I want to scream to them “What I would do to go to church every week with Tiffany, or have dinner at her house, or meet her at the park!!!” I realize you are a gem and I’ll never let you go! Love you:)

Leave a Reply

