The other day I was cleaning up the kitchen. It’s my never-ending task. So far I have a love/hate relationship with it: I love to cook and create in my kitchen. Kitchens are nice places to be-they fill so much more than our stomachs most days. But this day, I was just busy and lost in my head and annoyed at all that needed to be put away and filled and cleaned. I yanked the last paper towel off the roll; sticky, torn, final remnant of a towel. Boo. I peeked under the sink for another roll. No maas. So I called out to my little man, Chase. “Hey Chase!” He eagerly bounced up the stairs, “yes, Momma?”. “Buddy, would you go get Mommy a roll of paper towels down in the basement please?” “Sure!!! The big ones, right?” he chirped. “Yes, honey, thank you”. He bounded down the stairs and a moment later I heard him huffing up the stairs like he was carrying quite a load.

I turned around to greet him and thank him when I saw this cute little bundle of boy, all scrawny arms and legs, overflowing with the two giant rolls of paper towels he had just lugged up the stairs. I laughed at the sight of him and remarked “Oh, wow! You brought me two rolls? Thank you buddy!”. He proudly exclaimed his genius idea, “I brought you two so dat you could keep dis udder one under the sink for when this one runs out!”. I melted into a heap of giggles and pulled him close for a hug. This little scrawny boy was so thoughtful and sweet that it lightened my load of kitchen cleaning. What joy is found in those little things.

Leave a Reply

