I’m a Facebook junkie. You probably already know that though. I get lovingly teased about my frequent status updates and high activity level on occasion. Sometimes I sarcastically tell them to stop following me if it’s so annoying (with a wink and a nudge) and sometimes I explain myself. I’m a high extrovert. I’m also a SAHM (stay at home mom). My job is to teach, referee, love, discipline, drive, encourage, cook, clean, shop/provide and help others. I love my job! But my job can get me so focused on my to-do list that I start to get lost in my work. I get lost in work and I get lonely sometimes. So for me, social media is a delicious treat. I can plug in to people whenever I want! Hurray!

However, I’ve been reading several blog posts about the value in unplugging. Yesterday a friend posted that she took Facebook and Twitter off her phone! (And she is a high E like me!) GASP! I followed the comments on her act and was surprised to see people discussing this idea and how freeing it is/has been for them to just leave their phone at home or to remove those apps from their phones. I felt a little twinge inside me…a little tweak of “that’s crazy talk!”.

Then I started to check myself. “How often AM I on my phone?”

I thought of the day my toddler screamed at me every time I reached for my phone. She and I were playing on the floor while dinner simmered away on the stove and a friend began a long string of text messages to me. Every time I reached for my phone to read/respond to the text string, my daughter screamed at me. Yikes….

I follow Donald Miller’s blog (author of Blue Like Jazz and other great works) and today he was discussing relationships and the three things he is focusing on remembering as he interacts with others. That sounds like a loose tie, but in my mind it reminds me how much I love real life personal interactions. How much more valuable they are to me than quick things that come and go on Facebook.

Anyway, I could go on and on with this topic. My point is that I’m considering unplugging from social media or at least regulating my activity level. Not because everyone else is, but because I’ve got other things I truly should be doing. I have real people I can reach out and touch who I am called to invest in. Yet, I have real people who live far, far away that I want to stay in contact with. Such is the pull!

 

One thought on “UnPlugging

  1. Recently I’ve started logging out of social media apps on my phone so I can really think about when I want to be on them instead of having a notification pull me in or checking them on autopilot. For me, I don’t want to be legalistic about it but I do want to be intentional about how I spend my time.

Leave a Reply

