In my last post, I wrote about my surprise over my Christian friends who are in support of gay marriage. My husband and I invited one such friend over last night to just talk about his perspective. I truly wanted to hear him and try to understand where he was coming from and how he had come to his conclusions.

It was a great discussion and one which I think more Christians need to be ready and willing to enter into.  He gave us both a lot to think about. In fact, I was glad that his perspective even reached beyond the material I have read thus far. My favorite thing that our friend said was that “We need to stop looking at this as an issue and start remembering that this is about people.”  He is right. He also reminded us that the moment we start excluding people from the Gospel is the moment we are in trouble.

We parted ways disagreeing greatly on the matter. Neither one of us had changed our minds on how we felt. I still feel strongly that this is a cultural issue that is pressing in on the Church. I feel that many people are making the Bible say what they want it to say on the matter. (My friend’s question to me was who is the authority on what the Bible says, i.e. how it is translated and interpreted? I intend to investigate that question…)

My friend’s argument was indeed compelling and had us discussing a crucial question:

How is the Church and Christians individually, to respond to people who are in a monogamous relationship with a person of the same gender, who profess faith in Jesus and even exhibit the fruit of the Holy Spirit in their lives? What do you do with that?

My friend recommended a book that I intend to pick up. This conversation is not going away and I feel deeply compelled to do some serious homework on it and to pray. I’m sure you can tell in these series of posts that I’m still working through this. I’m sure I’ll sound like a whole host of unsavory things in this as I wrestle. But I’ve got to find a landing place for this. Otherwise I’m just another opinionated “Christian” who pushes away and excludes rather than seeks to understand. Running towards it and not away!

Thanks friend, for such an honest conversation.

Leave a Reply

