This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Today marks a special day in our home: Cooper is seven years old! AHHHH! I cherish this little boy so very much. When he was born, things did not go as I planned. I ended up having an unplanned c-section after 20 hours of labor. I was so disappointed and so sad. But He was my prize. It was the first lesson I learned as a new mother; that my control over things is very limited. That things will NOT go as I planned. That what I want is not necessarily what I will get. And that in the end, I still need to celebrate what is good, what is beautiful, what is right and true and pure.

Cooper, your sensitive spirit reminds me to watch my words. I am quick-tongued and you have taught me to guard my mouth so that I will guard your heart. I know I have more to learn, but I am grateful to be aware of it. You love everyone you meet. Even our mean neighbor kid who calls you names, who is unkind to you and who is not so great a friend. You are a good friend to him. You forgive instantly, you never hold a grudge. You are extremely joyful. You wake up every day eager to meet whatever is ahead. You are always ready for an adventure. You love to laugh and you laugh LOUD. (That’s my favorite thing about you.) Your curiosity can get on my nerves sometimes, but I love it when you tilt your head and call me out when I’m irritated. You say, “Mom, I’m just really curious!”. Yes my son, yes you are.

You are precious to me. You are so beautiful and you are so amazing. I am a better person because of you and I pray that my heart will always be willing to hear you, to see you and to uphold how wonderfully and fearfully you have been made by God.

What a gift you are my son.

Happy Birthday

Leave a Reply

