After moving 4 or 5 times in a matter of a few months, in a matter of a few years (such is Army life), I decided it takes me as a woman/homemaker roughly 2 years to “feel” settled. To feel like things are where they should be in the house and like each thing has a “home”. I keep reminding myself of this as we approach our one year anniversary in this house in the Lou. (Only 5 more days!)

You see, I unpacked the house one year ago with one goal in mind: get the boxes out as fast as possible. (I did it in two weeks-solo! With two children running around!)

there were boxes EVERYWHERE!

It didn’t matter where things went so much as that they were out of boxes. I could always reorganize later…that’s what I kept telling myself as I shoved and crammed stuff into every nook and cranny.

Once we finally were unpacked though, do you think I actually wanted to reorganize this place? HECK NO! I wanted to go outside and play! So I took a few months to recuperate and hoped my desire would creep in. It didn’t. Then we found out we were pregnant. Whoa. So now we have to reconfigure this entire place for a baby? AHHHHHHHHHHHHH!

In my head, I was so not there. Add some hormones to that and it = lots of crying and phone calls to your best friend and your husband.

Nesting hormones have helped tremendously though. Good ol’ hormones, right ladies? We can always count on ’em to make us just sliiiiiiiightly nutty. Bill Cosby talked a lot about the crazy look we get in our eyes. Yeah….but it’s so darn productive.

Right now, our house feels like a bomb went off in it. To me. Just me. Little Miss Feely. There’s the “room of which we shall not speak” that I know will one day be the most fabulous place in my house. One day….you know, when we can actually open the door to get in there. Hoarders? WHAT?

And then there’s the whole we-just-moved-two-boys-into-one-small-bedroom thing we have going on. I cannot keep up with those little men! As soon as their room gets picked up and organized BAM! Some kind of tornado of destruction (named Chase) comes through and puts us back to where we started.

I fall into that organization trap where I THINK that what I need to organize is things to put other things into. But really, maybe I don’t need a basket or a shelf or a “system”, I just need a trash bag.

The Container Store® - The Original Storage and Organization Store®
Is there a happier place on Earth than the Container store? It whispers to me in my dreams...

Wasn’t there a time when kids had like 3 toys total? Can we go back there? I’m kidding…sorta.

Oh and by the way, speaking of organization traps, does it drive anyone else crazy when you go online looking for helpful hints for organizing and there is very little pertaining to small spaces? I have teeny-tiny closets, a small bedroom and even my pantry is tiny. There are no walk-in closets in this entire household. It drives me bonkers!

In the mean time, my sweet husband has endured my crazy and has been so kind in helping me and my organizational needs. I am seriously considering hiring a professional organizer after the baby comes and things are in some semblance of a routine. I know if I can somehow focus on one room at a time, I can accomplish what I desire.

Organization Fairy! I need you!

That and with the support of my loyal friend; the trashbag. Craigslist and Good Will, this is your year of love from the Nevil family!

One thought on “Knock, Knock: Are You There Organization Fairy?

  1. I’m right there with ya sister! Actually largefamiliesonpurpose.com is an awesome blog about a family of 12 and her tips. Her organization methods are wonderful I’ve never been addicted to a blog of a person I didn’t actually know until I came across this one. We’ve been trashing/donating many a box along with you! Happy tossing!

Leave a Reply

