I love all things French. All of French culture makes me swooney and fluffy, puffy-heart-squishy inside. I’ve loved it since Junior High French class. French music, the French country side, even the people.

I married a man who does not like anything French. The food, the people, especially their politics; he is a victim of poor upbringing. ๐Ÿ˜‰ (I’m kidding.)

I took French I and II in junior high, then in high school went up to French IV. In college, I took French I, II and III. Whew…French III at the college level was, tres difficile, n’est pas? In fact, I cheated and took it at the community college because I was TERRIFIED of the French prof at UMSL at the time.

My French is awful today. I still think in French sometimes, but it’s more just a jumble of words and phrases that make me laugh. I have forgotten so much vocab…it’s sad.

Anyway, I still love all things French. I think I should be French. I love life, I love to go slow, I love food, I love the beauty of nature and the earth…ahhhh…And I love Feist (I know she’s Canadien). Wouldn’t you know she has this lovely song in French on one of her albums? I thought it was appropriate for this pretty Friday in St. Louis. I’ll even post the translation for you. I’m so sweet. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Like a cupcake…

All slow, all slow, all slowly
Always, all slow, all slowly
This way
Life is amazing.

All slow, all slow, all slowly
Always, all slow, all slowly
This way
Life, I understand it.

Never go too fast
You got all the time you need
Beware of the dynamite
Take care of volcanos
Of those young nervous ones
Who don’t know how to go

All slow, all slow, all slowly
Always, all slow, all slowly
This way
Strolling prettily

Never go too fast
Loving simply
To get success
Be very very prudent (cautious)
Love will then come
And snuggle up in your arms

All slow, all slow, all slowly
Always, all slow, all slowly
This way
Strolling prettily
Smiling prettily
Strolling prettily
All slowly

4 thoughts on “Doucement, Si Vous Plait…

  1. I am not against all things french. The kissing…toast…and fries are great…and am sure there are other things…

    I do think they are weak, yellow, and ungrateful.

    But thats all. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. I love all things Italian ๐Ÿ™‚ We may need to exchange stories someday! By the way, I’m a colleague of Jeremy’s. Your cupcakes were amazing ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

