2 Cups of coffee later, a healthy breakfast of Irish steel cut oatmeal under my belt and I still can’t wake up. I just want to crawl in bed and go back to sleep.

Ahh…Monday. Hi there.

This morning at roughly 4 am I was awoken by the shrill voice of an almost-three-year old crying out in the night “MY NOSE IS RUNNING! MY NOSE IS RUNNING! MY NOSE IS RUNNING!”

By the third time he said it, I had catapulted my six-months pregnant body out of bed, to the bathroom to get a tissue and into his room. I handed him the tissue and decided I needed to go to the bathroom. As I walked out and turned off the lights, there he was, standing there (in a very children-of-the-corn way) and scared me half to death. He told me in his sleepy, squeaky voice “I scared, I sweep in bed wif you guys”. I comply because frankly, I’m still half asleep.

Then, the baby inside my womb decides she’s awake! It’s party time! And she begins doing Lord-knows-what inside my womb as I try relentlessly to go back to sleep sandwiched in our ever-shrinking bed between The Man and the little man. Sigh.

The Man wakes up and says, “what’s this on his face? it looks red.” Who can see colors in the dark? Apparently he can. I turn on a light to discover dried blood all over the little man’s face. It wasn’t a runny nose, it was a bloody nose. Clean up begins.

Finally done with the commotion, I laid back down in an attempt to fall back to sleep. I laid there for one-hour with my mind racing.

And the baby having a dance party.

And the almost three-year-old flopping around.

I got up and got some milk and tried to go back to sleep again.

Finally, around 5 or 5:30 am, I think I fell back to sleep.

The problem is that it’s Monday. As I fell back into a deep sleep early in the morning, waking up at 6:30 am seemed impossible. Apparently it was. My hubby woke me up at 7:15 am to say he was leaving! AH! I hadn’t even heard him wake up!

We all managed to get up and get out of the house without rushing. Cooper was off to school and Chase and I came back to the house to get our morning started.

Only now, I want to take a nap.

Ahh….Monday.

2 thoughts on “The Monday that Started too Early…

  1. I laughed out loud at the children of the corn comment. Why do kids do that to us?! It’s so creepy! Tia is my nose bleeder. She got the all. The. Time. In St. Louis. I think it was the dry winters. I hate bloody noses! Freak me out excessively.mi hope you got some rest!

Leave a Reply

