When I married Jeremy, I knew that my life would always be full of laughter. This is a good thing because as Elizabeth Bennett says, “I do so love to laugh”.

Jeremy is the master of well-timed jokes, exaggerated stories, pranks and the like. He has always and will always be able to make me smile. But the thing that is the most fun is that he is passing his hilarity on to our children.

This week, Chase played his very first prank on me. It was impressive too. Jeremy absolutely didn’t believe that this 2.75 year-old was capable of thinking up his own joke and following through with it with the grace necessary to scare Mommy to death.

Fake cockroaches ever so carefully placed in the fridge for me to find...

But he did it! I even double checked with his big brother to ensure that Chase had indeed fessed up truthfully when I asked him if he was the responsible party. (His response by the way? “Sowwy Mommy” with a devilish grin stretched from ear to ear. My response? Laughter, hugs, kisses and high fives for cracking me up.)

Cooper has played similar jokes on me in the past. Just a few months ago I remember that Cooper put those same roaches in my bed, in the sheets, then remade the bed so I wouldn’t notice. When I pulled my covers back I freaked.

Jeremy’s best prank to date was when Chase was just a baby. The bassinet was in our bedroom and I was just headed in there to put the sleeping newborn down for a nap (so I could take a shower). I carefully pulled the blanket out of the bassinet to find a toy snake waiting for me. It also scared me half to death and made me about drop Chase! I couldn’t even scream…

I think I’ve mentioned it before but in this house,

We do Fun here!
4 thoughts on “Pranksters, Jesters and Comedians

  1. I love this. I love that your boys are learning the art of practical jokes and yes, I imagine their dad is an excellent teacher. 🙂 There are few things more fun in life than scaring the bejeebus out if someone, right?!

  2. What an adorable story! You should get them back with fake spiders. From what I remember, Nevil men are deathly afraid of spiders! 🙂

  3. Found you via Aimee over at Everyday Epistle and subscribed and linked to your blog.. Love your blog and looking forward to future posts. Come visit me sometime at RodneySouthernSays if you get the chance!

Leave a Reply

