I’m a summer-time girl. I love everything about it. I don’t know why, but it just calls to me. My favorite pictures and memories are always things we’ve done in the summer.

Sunnyside Beach, June 2010. One of my favorite days ever. I was lonely, it was right before Jeremy came home from Afghanistan. I packed up me and the boys and just spent all day at the beach. It was glorious. You can't tell, but the Olympic Mountains are all around and Chase loved it!

Times at the beach, on a hike, at the pool, playing in the sprinkler in the yard, fishing by the lake, watching fireworks from the coziness of a quilt on the grass, summer bbq’s and evenings spent outside as we eeck out the last few drops of sunshine.

Our Family after we hiked to the top of Multnomah Falls in the Columbia River Gorge in August of 2010

Perhaps it is the ease of being outside constantly. Perhaps it is the push that wells up inside people to just go somewhere in the summer. I dunno. But whatever it is beckons to me. Maybe I long for adventure?

This fall weather is nice and all. The fall is a time of preparation for winter. We get our yards ready. We get our homes ready for the long months of blistering cold that are coming. I do enjoy Christmas, so I guess I’ve got that to look forward to. All the hustle and bustle and joys of decorating everything all around us while we cuddle under cocoa and Christmas carols.

But once December has come and gone and the reprieve that is January sets in, I am living each and every moment for March. Missouri and March are so glorious! The weather begins to warm, the earth softens and everything is toned in cheery tones of yellow-green. Summer doesn’t start for months after that, but the spring makes a beautiful way for my favorite season.

The grass in our new houses' yard this spring...it was so bright and pretty!

Sigh.

I’m a summer girl.

The writer of Lamentations tells us that there is a season for everything. I know that there is purpose to the seasons and honestly, it’s what gets me through the times of the year that are NOT my favorite.

But how cool is it that I’m a summer girl and the baby will be here just as summer is ready to pounce on me?  I already have happy thoughts of toting two wild and crazy boys around and one sleeping little angel while we happily pack our 20 bags for a day at the pool with our friends. Not that I’ll want to be seen in a swim suit, but hey, it IS a dream.

I have dreams of traveling back to Washington to show off our new bundle of joy and reconnect with the place and the people who will forever be deep in our hearts. I hope we get to spend some time at the ocean. A trip to Cannon Beach, Long Beach or maybe even Lincoln City?

Sigh.

These are just my Monday thoughts. My happy little dreams that flutter in my head and remind me that my soul is one day going to be quenched by Jesus. One day in heaven all those things about summer that bring my soul acres of joy will be realized in the way they were meant to be. In the meantime, I’m loving my pictures of summers past and my dreams of summers to come.

One thought on “Monday Pick Me Up Thoughts

Leave a Reply

