I’ve decided there is something that happens to people mid-way between 25 and 35: somewhere in there we become cynical. Maybe I shouldn’t automatically include you in my generalization here…I wouldn’t want to offend.

Ok, I am especially cynical towards the world in general; how governments work (or don’t), how I interact with the people around me (or how I should interact), and how I look at the future. Perhaps it is because I went through the school of hard knocks as I learned how to be independent in the world. Perhaps the responsibilities of adult hood and the weight they bring helped too.

Either way, there is a refreshing innocence that comes with being a young person. I think the 18-25 years olds of the world could teach us/me a lot.

I’m specifically thinking about politics in our good ol’ US of A these days. Today we are one year and one month away from a new Presidential election. Sigh with me ok?

Oi…

I am finding myself so cynical about the not-close-at-all elections. The candidates look like total goofballs to me! It’s not that I don’t resonate with SOME of the things they are saying. It’s that I can’t take anyone seriously. It seems as if the name of the game is still who can throw out the best zinger and bash the other guy.

I believe in our government. I believe in capitalism. I believe that our disagreements in the parties even keep us balanced so the scales don’t tip too far in one direction.  But what I don’t believe in are the people who are stepping forward saying they are prepared to lead our country into economic recovery. Really?

Republican Candidates for 2012

I keep looking at the candidates and shaking my head. It makes me not even want to participate, not want to mentally check in at all or even put forth greater effort to educate myself on what these people believe. Because, when all is said and done, will they really be able to do it?

I want to believe. I truly do. But until March, I’m ignoring the characters and the circus surrounding them. I’m sure I’ll be fed up by May anyway…

Leave a Reply

