I just had a frustrating experience. It’s not the first time I’ve had this happen to me and I’m sure it won’t be the last. But before I discuss more of it, let me say that I know I stink at this. I’m sure there is a better way to go about it than how I have in the past. I know I should put some effort into it and I am doing a little research even as I type this blog so I can have some things handy next time.

Today, a guy in a suit rang my doorbell right as I was putting Chase down for nap. There were groceries all over my kitchen floor because I had just returned from Wal-Mart where I spent all our money. I was ready to finish my task…not answer the door. So when I saw him, I thought alright, he’s either A) a mormon or B) a jehovah’s witness. Either way, I should just tell him “no thanks”.

I know I'm not alone in my loathing of the knock at the door...

But he started off asking me about my day, blah, blah, blah, he was very polite and could tell I was on the defensive. I’m sure my face gave plenty away too. So then he tells me he wants to share a word of encouragement from the Bible about disciplining my children. I stopped him. I said, “sir I just need to stop you and tell you thank you, but I am a Christian, I have walked with the Lord for many years and personally, I would prefer if you would just let me get back to my day so that I could spend a little time by myself in God’s Word getting refreshed and go on about my day. I go to a great church, I have a spiritual community and really, I’m good.”

He tells me he is not promoting any kind of church membership and just wants to talk to people about God and then he tells me he is a jehovah’s witness. Sigh. I think I said to the Lord “really? now?!” I don’t want to talk to this dude…

He and I began to go back and forth. I challenge his statement that he is a “christian” and ask him why the Church does not accept their denomination as a christian denomination. He deny’s who “the Church” is. I ask him how he can call himself a christian when doctrinally what he believes does not line up with the doctrine of the christian denominations? He starts telling me about how the Trinity is a lie and that God has revealed everything there is to know about himself already (i.e. there’s nothing left to learn) and finally I just stop him.

I said, “sir, I believe that what you are teaching is a lie. I believe that you are speaking against God’s Holy Word and that frankly, Satan has you in his grip. I believe Satan is using you to turn people away from who God truly is as it is written in the Bible. The real Bible. Not your version. I will now ask you to please leave because I have nothing left to discuss with you today.”  He politely left.

AAARGH! I know I could’ve done that better. So I found this website about talking with jw’s. And here’s the thing, I’m not willing to do a Bible study with jw’s. I’m not interested in doing anything other than slapping a “No Soliciting” sign on my door and leaving it closed. That bothers me..and it should. Because is that guy any less worthy of knowing who Jesus, the REAL Jesus is than anyone else, including me?

Jesus is so clear about telling the people if ANYONE preaches a different Gospel than what he has told them, they are liars. They are wolves in sheep’s clothing (Jesus said that in Matthew 7:15). Yet, I’m sure that guy really thinks that he loves God.

21 “Not everyone who says to me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ will enter the kingdom of heaven, but only the one who does the will of my Father who is in heaven. 22 Many will say to me on that day, ‘Lord, Lord, did we not prophesy in your name and in your name drive out demons and in your name perform many miracles?’ 23 Then I will tell them plainly, ‘I never knew you. Away from me, you evildoers!’ Matthew 7:21-23

I believe jw’s are people just like me. But, have they ever tested their faith? Isn’t it weird to them that the Church doesn’t accept them? Isn’t it weird to them that they can only use their special version of the Bible? I know that within the true Christian Church, there are tons of variations regarding minor issues that mostly focus on Sunday morning type stuff. But the majority of the Church majors on the majors and minors on the minors. The Trinity is not a minor. Who Jesus is and was, that’s not a minor. These are huge things.

I’ve questioned my own faith. I’ve been proven wrong about a lot of things I believed. But I’ve been proven wrong by the Bible. By God’s Word.

I think maybe next time I should say something else. But I’m not sure what to say. It’s easier to put up the “No Soliciting” sign and pretend like it doesn’t matter. But the easy thing isn’t necessarily the right thing.

5 thoughts on “Wolves in Sheep’s Clothing

  1. Sorry but I would never open the door to anyone I don’t know. I just don’t do it, especially when Travis isn’t home. I know you think I’m crazy, but it’s just not something we do around here…

  2. I say good job….I honestly don’t answer my door either…I have had my kids sitting in the other room hushing them just so they go away- however when I was a kid…my mom who was a NEW baby Christian, invited them in and had a full on discussion/bible study with them on how they were wrong- note she only did this once :o) ~ Courtney

  3. We just started reading “Forgotten God” by Francis Chan in our small group & church. He talks in the first chapter about this exact same scenario (you should really read the book – it’s so good). Anyway, he challenged the JW’s at his door to read the Bible for themselves, rather than simply accept what they’ve been told about it. But later, he asked himself if he had ever sat down with the Bible and sought after its self-evident truth. He wondered if he had passively ingested what he’d heard from other people like the JW’s. The conclusion was that we need to reexamine our faith just as much as the JW’s at the door need to.

    Not sure where I was going with that, but it made me think of the book. Also, I wouldn’t open my door up to an unknown man while home alone either. Too risky from a safety standpoint in my opinion… But if John is home we always talk with them.

Leave a Reply

