This weekend Cooper brought home a book he had made at school. It was a counting a book. His teacher had apparently asked the kids to count how many apples they saw on each page, write the number of apples and then try to sound out phonetically how the number is spelled.

Jeremy and I went out for a much-needed date night Friday and didn’t have a chance to see this book. But Grandma did…

Grandma wasn't sure quite what to say...

We all had a good laugh about it. I went through the book and wrote the correct spelling on his pages so that he could see the correct answer.  What was his response? The child argued with me. On spelling.

That’s just the tip of the ice burg too. I have a few things to ask his teacher about what she is telling them on these phonetic exercises. So far, I totally loathe them. I get that the kids are at least trying but I don’t agree with that method. Teach ’em the right way FIRST says I. This touchy feely “just sound it out” thing is really annoying me. It’s not right. Don’t encourage my kid to do something wrong just for the sake of getting him to do it. That’s a waste of his time. And mine eventually.

So we’ve had to have lots of talks about respecting the authority of your parents rather than second guessing EVERYTHING they say. Gahhhh. I didn’t think Kindergarten would bring all this on so soon.

But at least he didn’t ask what SEX was….

 

4 thoughts on “Spelling Mishaps of a Six Year Old

  1. I couldn’t agree with you more. Tiffany, I can’t tell you how many problems Sloan is having with spelling because of the sound spelling method he learned. I take some of the blame for not trying harder to work with him while he was in school, but I loathe the way he was taught. My second grader can’t spell to save his life and part of the problem is because he was never taught phonics. He was taught to sound it out and spell it like it sounds. Which means his journal entry from yesterday had “Tree” spelled “chree” and “Aquarium” spelled “Akwariem” and other such horrors.

    OMG!

    It’s terrible! We’re going to have to go back to basic phonics for him to understand what sounds go together to make a word. My advice is for you to keep pushing forward and not let Cooper get swept up in the tide of sound spelling like I did with Sloan. It’s definately coming back to bite me in the butt.

    On the plus side, I laughed out loud when I saw this on Jeremy’s Facebook page the other night. I mean…that’s hysterical. 🙂

    1. UGH, when I read your fb post about Sloan’s spelling I immediately saw Cooper in two years. (They are so alike) I need to educate myself on how to teach phonics to him and work with him. Ashlynn is a terrible speller too. I mean I get it that they are young, but c’mon! I think the thing that ticks me off the most is that right now Cooper thinks that if that is how he hears the word spelled, then that must be right. He won’t accept when he’s wrong. I don’t know where he gets that from……

Leave a Reply

