I was once told that when you are creating something artistic and you make a mistake,  you should step back and wait a bit before you discard it. Give it some time, go back to it and see if you can’t do something WITH your mistake.

Well, I had a vision for these here book cases we got from our friends. They were just typical book cases, probably around 20 years old or more, but they were nice and tall and had adjustable shelves. I had an idea I wanted to try with them from my fav blog, Young House Love. I wanted to paint the backing of one of the book cases so that it would match the stripes in my youngest son’s room.

I got all motivated, primed it (because I figured that is all I would need to do to make the paint stick) and then painted it. I loved how it turned out! But then, alas, when I went to pull the tape off of the edges, the paint came with it and peeled off all around the edges! AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!

I was crushed.

I had to just walk away with my head hung in shame. I should have sanded it first. Boo. I couldn’t decide if I was going to peel the whole dang thing off and start all over again or do something else.

Then as I was perusing the net I saw a picture of a book case that had been decoupaged. I remembered my friend Kelli McGill had decoupaged an adorable table for her girls and I got to thinking….I have some seriously cute scrapbook paper. If I got myself some spray adhesive and glued it over my mistakes, that book case would look super cute and I wouldn’t have to scrap the whole project!!

I liked the idea, but it made me so nervous. I didn’t want to mess it up again!

Well, today, as it poured down rain and the babies slept, I decided I was feeling crafty. I gave it a whirl and WOW! It worked! I fixed it!!!!!

Sorry for the bad garage lighting...but you get the idea!

So now, all I need is the hubbs to bring it in the house for me so I can set it up in the boy’s room. Complete with books, toys and various chotchkies.  YAY!

4 thoughts on “And Then, I Fixed It!

    1. Aimee, the news said there is a new condition called PVS, or post-vacation syndrome. It’s a short period of depression after vacation when real life kicks in. I cracked up laughing! But, what if you have it?! *GASP*

Leave a Reply

