My laundry room is like most laundry rooms in Missouri homes. It is in the basement. It is dark. It is a little bit on the creepy side. The hot water heater, air conditioning ducts and other important things for the house share the room.  The floor is concrete, some of the walls are concrete, the ceiling is exposed.

…Really makes you want to go down there and toss in a load of laundry, doesn’t it?

On a recent visit to Indiana, we stopped and visited my husband’s Aunt and Uncle and checked out their totally adorable and completely remodeled house. She showed me her basement laundry room…and that’s when it all started. The laundry-room envy. It was so.pretty.

It was also in, the BASEMENT! I never thought that basement laundry rooms could be nice. I don’t know why, I just didn’t. But she opened my eyes to the possibilities.

I started looking for pictures and “how-to’s” on HGTV and the like. Check out this transformation! From spooky basement…

Before

to the cheeriest place to do crafts OR fold laundry!

After!

I mean, can you BELIEVE that is the same space? Whoa. I was floored.

Thus, I began expanding my dreams of what my laundry room could one day look like! I’m seriously tempted to draw up a rough draft of how I want it. Regardless, I am really excited that one day, my slighty spooky laundry room could look like one of the happiest places on earth. Sigh…

What room of your house do you dream of transforming?

One thought on “I Dream of Laundry Rooms

  1. If we had stayed in STL, I had grand plans for my basement laundry room. It involved fabric from IKEA that was going to have some sew into a long curtain for me and hang behind the washer and dryer. I wanted to paint the cement walls a really fun color and get a kicky rug to cover the ugly cement floor. I was actually excited about it!

    But alas, I had to leave it behind. MY new laundry room is already pretty – although it’s not really my style. Someday I’ll try to re-do it, I’m sure. I may need some inspiration and ideas on how to do that. 🙂

Leave a Reply

