I started blogging mostly to record what was happening in my own head, heart and life around five years ago. My blog has stayed true to my personality in that my posts cover a plethora of mostly unrelated topics.

I’ve heard women’s brains referred to as big plates of spaghetti and a mess of connected wires…somehow everything is connected to everything else.  Maybe I should have called my blog Spaghetti Plate?

I bet my blog topics would look like this graphic....

Anyway, I have made ZERO attempts to improve my blogging in my 5 years on the web. I read other blogs, sure, but not blogs about blogging. I’ve never read a book on blogging and I’ve never gone to a seminar on blogging. But maybe I should…

What I want to know today though, is whether my readers who blog (see blogroll) try to educate themselves about the blogging world?

And if you do, where and how?

You tell me!

P.S. I would guess this is more of a Monday topic since most of you are not particularly chatty on my Friday posts. But if you do read this, seriously, I want to know what you do!

P.P.S.I have to give a shout out to my friend Kelli for her awesome rant on Reality TV…I feel exactly the same way! She HAS been to seminars on blogging….

6 thoughts on “You Tell Me!

  1. I do not read any particular blog on “blogging better”. However reading my friends blogs (such as Quiet Gardens) encourages me to think outside the box and blog about more random things rather than just what the kids are doing, family trips, vacations, etc. My two cents 🙂 Way to get my brain thinking though, especially on a Friday

  2. I try to pick up and peruse whatever books the library has in house. The problem is often they are outdated. As soon as they are printed. Sigh.

    The books did help me to get started. The books and Nicole at Here’s the Diehl (I see she’s on your blog roll too! Thanks for including me btw.). Friends who know what they’re doing and are willing to help you are invaluable.

    And I tend to agree with Stephanie. Do a lot of browsing and reading what blogs are out there. Don’t flat out copy stuff, but if you see something you like, figure out how you can make it yours. And if you give a nod to your inspiration (by a link back), you’ve made a friend. That’s what it’s all about, right?

  3. I JUST wrote the longest comment ever (and it was brilliant, I might add) and I got kicked off the internet. BLAST!

    In a nutshell, Thanks! 🙂 You’re right, I have been to a lot of blogging seminars. The best piece of advice I ever got was “Write well.” That’s what brings people back. (You do that, by the way). Outside of that, I have a few more blogging basics:

    – Know your audience and be nice to them. I try really hard to stay true to myself without alienating my readers. For example, I don’t hide my faith, but I try not to make every post a Bible Study.

    – Peruse people who ARE doing it well. For example, Ann Voskamp pretty much pens poetry with a keyboard. She is an inspiration for writing well. http://www.aholyexperience.com; Amber from Crappy Pictures is friggin hilarious and she has a schtick that works for her and she doesn’t deviate from it: http://www.crappypictures.typepad.com/crappypictures
    Kelly Stamps is not a brilliant writer by any means but she is so dang cute and genuine that you can’t help but love her and want to go back. http://www.kellyskornerblog.com

    – Be consistent. If you’re only going to blog 3 times per week, then do it on the same days so there is predictability. 🙂

    – Do blog about politics unless you’re willing to kick it around in the comments a bit. I don’t do politics anymore. I didn’t love the controversy.

    – Don’t get easily offended. If you DO write a post that someone disagrees with – as long as they’re being respectful, let them disagree. Even if they’re other Christians. Even if they’re FRIENDS! Healthy discourse is the beauty of blogging.

    – Keep it simple. I love your blog for the stories (you’re a great writer), the humor and the DIY projects. I find you inspiring and your honesty is refreshing.

    – It doesn’t hurt to go to a seminar now and then, or a local meet up. St. Louis has a lot of gatherings and there are some great people in the blogging world up there. If you want me to introduce you to any of them, let me know. I’d be happy to.

    – Finally, don’t commandeer your friend’s comment section. Like I just did…okay, that’s not a rule. That’s just me talking out loud.

    Love you!

  4. Thanks for the shout out, friend! So this is now the third time I’m commenting on this post. For some reason, my computer was being nerdy last night and wouldn’t post my comments. They were really long. They may have even been brilliant. I mean, I could have been a Pulitzer contender with the wisdom I penned. We’ll never know, of course, because those words are floating through cyber space. But yes, I’ve been to several blogging seminars. Heck, I’ve even organized some of them. And I’ve learned a few tricks of the trade over the years. But mostly I’ge just met really great, interesting people. If you’re interested in some awesome local social media contacts up in the Lou, let me know. I’ll put you in touch. 😉 love you, friend!

    1. Thanks Kelli! I got your comment and for some reason my blog wanted me to approve it? It thought you were spam I think. But thanks so much for trying again. I really appreciate your encouragement and recommendations! I’ll be checking those out during my Mommy Time. 😀 Thanks for inspiring me!

Leave a Reply

