I didn’t grow up in the church, so it took me a long time to discover the depths of worship from a musical perspective. (‘Cause let’s face it, worship is not just about music or singing.) When I was little, the only song I remember learning was “Jesus Loves Me”. I didn’t learn the books of the Bible song (will someone sing that for me please?), “This little light of Mine” or the like until I was actually a teenager and early twenty something. (Though I do remember a few from the one time I went to church camp as an elementary girl.) Isn’t that funny-ironic?

Everyone should have one of these 😀

But my favorite place to have traveled in my musical journey of discovering worship songs, would be the Hymns. My BF Crystal gave Jeremy a hymnal that I still owe her back (but I don’t want to give it back…shhhhhh) a few years ago when he began leading worship for our church in WA, Renovo. He didn’t ever actually use it, much to my sadness. But I have adopted that hymnal as my own. (Guess I should go buy myself one and give Crystal’s back…seething conviction.)

One of my most favorite things to do is flip through the book and when I find a song I just happen to know the tune for, (I can’t read music…isn’t that so sad?) I love to sing it outloud to my Lord.  I love to sing. I wish I was better at it. I imagine in Heaven I will have an angelic voice and I will get to sing to my Lord all the time!

I didn’t realize I liked to sing so much or that it made my soul feel so deeply connected to my Lord until our small group started singing a hymn together, acapella, before our study started. We read Dietrich Bonhoeffer’s book, “Life Together” and discussed some of the things that Bonhoeffer felt were essential to a Christian community. He deeply felt that it was important to praise the Lord in song because it focused the mind and the heart and made way for the Holy Spirit. I totally agree.

I treasure the depths of the hymns, the way they focus on God and not so much on us, the truth that they remind us of from His word and the earnest pleas they cry out.  Here are a few of my favorites:

How Firm a Foundation
All to Jesus, I Surrender
Take My Life, and Let It Be
Come, Let Us Worship and Bow Down
Joyful, Joyful, We Adore Thee
All Hail the Power of Jesus’ Name
Come Thou Fount of Every Blessing
How Majestic Is Your Name
I Need Thee Every Hour
Trust and Obey
Turn Your Eyes Upon Jesus

AH! There are so many. I have many, many more I’ve left off this little list…but, what are some of your favorites?

4 thoughts on “Hummin’ Hymns for Him

  1. Hey! Order every single Selah album you can get your hands on. They sing the hymns but in a beautiful, lyrical, FUN way! The hymns come alive through them! 🙂

  2. True about Selah! I’m so excited to see them at Women of Faith this year too. I love you so much that you can keep the hymnal. You just owe me chocolate cake when I get there:)

  3. Amen! I need to do a better job of passing these on to our kids. A few of my favorites are “O, the Deep, Deep Love of Jesus,” “Be Thou My Vision,” and “And Can it Be?” (there’s a “new” version of this that we sang in Jr High, and maybe college group, WAY back in the day). I think my favorite Christmas Hymn is probably “O Come, O Come Emmanuel.”

Leave a Reply

