When I was in high school, I drove a purple Honda civic hatchback. On the back of “Abe” I had a lovely sticker that said, “Mean People Suck” in cursive, pretty, writing with flowers and pretty colors everywhere.

It was prettier than this, but you get my drift.

I loved that sticker.

Why? Because I did and still do think that mean people suck.

Wanna see who I think is mean? These people.

A “no-kids-allowed” movement? Really? Seriously?

You know, this country needs some serious wake up calls.  What do you think will become of a nation of child-haters?

And who are these people kidding anyway? Hasn’t anyone told them what they were like as children? Don’t they understand that human beings are sinful from birth? That good parents are what makes good kids and that even then, children will mess up? Children are adults in training!!! Hello!!! They are not supposed to have their act together. They are not supposed to be perfect!

This year alone, I have had several altercations with total strangers regarding my children.  There was the guy in the library who shooshed my two year old when he spoke. I stood up to that guy and told him that I had it under control and he needed to chill out. Then there was that awful man at the Lavender farm in Eureka who called my son a “wreck” and banned me from the farm because my son cried when I was about to walk into his store. What a mean man!

Is that the kind of world we want to even raise children in?

Look. There are those of us who believe that children are a gift from God himself. We believe that raising them to have morals, values and to love others will make the world a better place. So you know all you mean people who want to start child bans? Well you know, I’m glad my kids will outlive people like you. Thank you for not having children yourself. That’s not the kind of legacy we want to reproduce.

3 thoughts on “Mean People Suck

  1. I agree that many are taking the no-kids thing too far. And I love LOVE my children…they ARE gifts. But…

    I have to respectfully disagree. I do think that there are places that kids don’t need to be. Don’t get me wrong: the library and lavender farm are places that are appropriate for children, especially those whose parents are in control of the situation. There’s no excuse for people doing what they did to you in those locations.

    But I’m thinking specifically of nice restaurants. If Matt and I decide to splurge on a nice place, the last thing I want to do is have to listen to someone else’s kids whining/screaming/etc. Too often parents just let it go instead of taking kids outside, or if it warrants, just leaving the restaurant. I don’t think a nice place banning children is tantamount to hating children…I feel like it’s setting appropriate expectations for the setting.

    Now if casual restaurants and the like started banning children, I’d have a BIG problem with it. Kids can’t learn how to behave appropriately without experience. But they also can’t learn it without solid parental guidance, and too often, I think that’s the real problem.

    OK, this got long…sorry. Hope I didn’t make you mad 🙂

    1. Nicole, no way am I mad at you! I wouldn’t want to live in a world where everyone agreed with me on everything I think.

      However, I was talking about casual restaurants and the like. Fancy resorts and restaurants have always held a social expectation that kids are not invited. And there is a place for those sorts of things. I mean even parents want to get away.

      I’m talking about the mentality of child bans on everyday places and situations. Airlines especially tick me off. As a mom, I think that the mentality is overstepping the opportunity for parents to parent. And I feel that is happening more and more in our society.

      It IS up to the parents discretion many times. Society should allow parents to parent. And even then, parents will make a mistake here and there.

      I just think it is infringing on the rights of both parents and kids to block them from places. It’s the mark of a mean culture.

  2. Hi, Tiffany. The thought that came to mind upon reading this tonight is a rather sad one. This type of behavior–banning children–is expected. Should have seen it coming. When an adult’s convenience or comfort is at stake, child-hating is allowed, even praised.

    This is going to sound melodramatic to some, but we’ve been on this slippery slope since Roe v. Wade in 1973. As you wrote, people forget they were once children too. Heck, people forget children are people. It’s allowed. It’s sad. And it’s mean. We’re one step away from eating them, as the satirist Jonathan Swift suggested to the poor in A Modest Proposal. Makes me sick.

    Thanks for noting our kids will outlive these folks. All the more reason to instill in our charges a love and respect for all life–the young, the old, the frail and the helpless included.

Leave a Reply

