Our church has been working through an exciting leadership group this summer. The first few meetings we all had several personality tests we were asked to take so they could tally the results and show us how different we all are, what our strengths and weaknesses and talents are and how those affect the body we are a part of in our church. We did a Church Personality Profile (which was hilarious), a Meyers-Briggs test and a Strengths Finders test.

This has been really interesting for me to learn a little bit more about myself and just what my strengths and talents are. I am not someone who is “down” on myself; I’ve just never felt like I was especially talented at much. These little tests have changed my perspective on why I am the way I am and what I am really great at! (If you haven’t taken the Meyers-Briggs test, click here to do so. It’s fun!)

On the Meyers-Briggs test, I came out as an ENFJ. Here is how this website described my results:

Extraversion (E), Intuition (N), Feeling (F)
Judging (J) (to learn more about that verbiage, click here. Judging doesn’t mean the vernacular like judgmental BTW…)

“ENFJs direct their energy outward. They are gregarious, talkative and assertive. They love people and social gatherings. They are energized by interaction, are expressive and enthusiastic. ENFJs are Intuitive. They are imaginative and deep. Their thought process is abstract and focused on possibilities. They are idealistic and complex people.

ENFJs are Feelers that make decisions with their heart. They are passionate and profoundly empathetic, caring and warm. ENFJs are decisive, organized and structured. They like to complete tasks and they seek closure. ENFJs often plan ahead.”

That was all fun and dandy and made me crack up but what I really liked was this Mothering Styles website I found that talked about what my personality looked like as a Mom!

Sometimes, you just have to ham it up...(this is me and my friend Krista at Cooper's Birthday Party last year)

There have been many times where I have felt like a T-O-T-A-L loser of a mom. But this little write up helped me to celebrate what I am naturally good at and helped me to understand the areas I could use some improvement in. These were pretty spot on for me and I was so surprised!

Of all the things I learned, this was the nicest to see in writing though (and to then show my husband…ahem): “Although she is people-oriented, the ENFJ needs some peace and quiet each day. A walk or lunch by herself can help her re-energize. She can also benefit from opportunities to engage in lively, heart-to-heart discussions with a close friend or group of friends beyond her immediate family.”

But enough about me, what about you? Have you taken a personality profile before? Has it helped you in one of your roles in life? Have you ever thought about how that affects your life?

Leave a Reply

