This has been a busy week for the Nevil family! Cooper has been in VBS (Vacation Bible School) at CPC (Chesterfield Presbyterian Church) in west county where our friends go to church. He and his buddy, Nick, have had SUCH a blast. It’s adorable to hear him excitedly tell me about his day each time I pick him up to come home. Their theme is “Go Deep” and the focus of the week is that each of them are God’s sunken treasure. Thursday night at 7 pm the church is doing a recap of their week. It should be really fun! Their theme song for the week is “Our God is a Great Big God”.

I love that Chase has heard the song enough that he can sing it along with Cooper through the day. I miss Cooper and Chase getting to be a part of Children’s worship. I think it is so good for their little souls and so natural for them to sing and laugh with joy in the Lord. I wish our church had worship time for them. (Not that we don’t play worship music and sing at home, but it is different when they can gather with their own “community” and praise God.)

During this time that he’s been at VBS, Chase and I have had a lot of fun together. Yesterday, we went to the Magic House. It has been special for me to have a little time to solely focus on Chase. Although, I don’t feel like it is all that different than normal. If anything, I feel like Chase takes all my attention anyway because he is so high maintenance and Cooper is the one who gets the short end of the stick!

In addition to that, I’m helping out a friend and working full-time watching her 9-month old. This is excellent birth control for me. Not so much for Jeremy. He likes babies way too much.  I need at least one more year before I’ll be ready to even discuss the possibility of more children.

In the mean time, I do enjoy playing with a cute baby girl. She has the cutest outfits on every day, the cutest little hair bows and earrings and bibs. It’s a lot of fun for me to admire her sweetness. Yet, I can’t help but crack up at all the ways she is different from my boys. I remember when they were her age, if they hit their head or did something to hurt themselves accidentally, they would cry pretty loud and dramatically for roughly 20 seconds. Then it was over and done with and they were on to the next adventure. Not so with a little girl. The crying is for more like 20 minutes and then she pouts because she got hurt. She needs cuddling and cooing and reassurance to go back out into the big bad world that just personally injured her. I laugh and laugh about this. I should know better; I mean I AM a girl. I do this too….

I’ve decided that with boys and girls, it isn’t that their is less drama. My boys bring plenty of drama-enough to go around and embarrass the tar out of me. It’s just short lived. 😀 When it’s over, it’s over.

Back to our crazy week. You add meetings and prayer groups and leadership studies on top of that other stuff, and it makes for burning the candle at both ends. I am not complaining though, in fact, I’m kind of loving it! I’m so tired at night that I’m crashing beyond recovery by 8:30 pm. I am just utterly exhausted and yet having so much fun.

I’m so grateful that I get to play like this right now. It’s totally amazing for me. I know it won’t be like this forever, so I’m trying to soak it up while I can. If we don’t have any more babies, full-time work is only 3-4 years away! By then, Jeremy will be done with his degree, Chase will be in Kindergarten and Cooper in …gulp…3rd grade! AHHH!

I’ll take my candle burning years for now. I’m sure they’ll come back around the time Cooper is in high school :D>.

Leave a Reply

