The common Facebook status of my friends this past week has been referencing all the crazy things creation is exhibiting this year.  Missouri had record-breaking snowfall amounts in January, ice in February, excessive amounts of rain in March and April, devastating tornadoes in April and May, way above average heat in June as well as an insane infestation of locusts (as it is the 13th & 7th year for them all at once). In the early-morning hours on Tuesday (3:oo am ish), St. Louis experienced a 4.2 earthquake!

All this has made me chuckle. Is that wrong?

I can honestly say that I want Heaven. I desire it. I long for it like a hot, thirsty human.

I love being alive and experiencing the joys of my family and friends. I love seeing the beauty of nature around me. But when the Bible tells me that this is nothing compared to what awaits those who believe and follow Jesus, man….that makes me so EXCITED!

“Yet, what we suffer now is nothing compared to the glory he will reveal to us later. For all creation is waiting eagerly for that future day when God will reveal who his children really are. Against its will, all creation was subjected to God’s curse. But with eager hope, the creation looks forward to the day when it will join God’s children in glorious freedom from death and decay.

For we know that all creation has been groaning as in the pains of childbirth right up to the present time. And we believers also groan, even though we have the Holy Spirit within us as a foretaste of future glory, for we long for our bodies to be released from sin and suffering. We, too, wait with eager hope for the day when God will give us our full rights as his adopted children, including the new bodies he has promised us. We were given this hope when we were saved. ” Romans 8:18-24a

Ahhh…I love that scripture. It was on my heart this morning as I listened to the news reporting on the earthquake. I am eager for death and decay to be eradicated. My heart has been heavy with sorrow over witnessing so much of them in the past 2 years of life. Death and decay are a reality I am done living with. Can you imagine a world without them? Can you imagine if everything around us was not dying, would never die or wear out or show decay? Can you imagine yourself with a new body that is perfect and never decays?

I think creation is just groaning as she always does. She is subjected to the curse just like us and she waits with eager hope for the day when she no longer has to suffer decay and death. Her groans should mirror our own hearts and souls.

Come, Lord Jesus, come soon.

Leave a Reply

