Tomorrow is Friday. I can hardly believe that we have been here for 6 whole days. It’s just crazy. I haven’t asked Jeremy how he feels in the last few days, but I know I still feel like I am on vacation. Only I feel like I am on vacation but have work to do. Maybe I feel like I am on a work trip? That makes no sense.

I am having such a hard time sorting out my brain since we arrived into St. Louis, so not much makes sense.  I’m going to work backwards with what we did today. That sounds like a good place to start.

First off, for all my WA friends, we received a decent snow storm here in the mid-west last night. It started snowing around 7 pm and stopped around 9 am today. Yup, 24+ hours of straight snow! Here where my parents live, we got at least 8 inches, maybe a bit more. The news is saying we could get more snow on Saturday and maybe Monday too! I’m trying really hard to adjust my brain to “winter in the mid-west” mode. When I get dressed in the morning or even go outside, my brain is still in “winter in the PacNW” mode. I.e. I’m freaking freezing! (And Crystal, you be quiet, I can gripe about the weather no matter where I live!)

I am adjusting though. I wore a sweater AND a t-shirt underneath AND a coat today. This would be an unheardof combo for me in WA. It’d be one or the other there. This may not seem noteworthy to you, but one day I know I will look back at this post and crack up laughing. But still, it was sooooo beautiful when the sun came out today. My heart filled with joy when I saw the glistening white snow sparkling on the barren tree branches. Ahhh….so pretty! Oh Mr. Sun, Sun, Mr. Golden Sun, how I’ve missed you! Thank you for shining down on me!

We were however, totally unprepared as parents for all this snow. I mean, what child in existence doesn’t want to go romp in 8 inches of snow? The problem is that we did not have the proper equipment or attire for the boys to do this. Therefore, we went to Target! We bought snow boots, snow pants and a new and warmer coat for Cooper. We looked for a sled and guess where we found one? (Not Target, WalMart, Home Depot or anywhere else like that.) At Dierburgs! HA! (That’s a local grocery store non-MO peeps) Jeremy said there were 3 left. And boy, is this a crazy cool sled! I know I keep promising pictures…it’s really terrible of me not to have them. I need to find that dang cord for the camera…..

Then, once we acquired all our items, we went and ate a fatty, fatty lunch at Culver’s. Oh. My. Gosh. People, I’ve been trying NOT to be fat. This trip has drastically thwarted my efforts. As my BF says, my body has this problem where it WANTS to be fat. He he he he he he. There are so many bad-for-us food temptations all around us. We’ve gotta stop! We have no excuse really. Hold us to it ok? It’s getting bad! I’m glad I signed up for a big race in April.  More on that another time. I’m veering heavily off subject.

So back to sorting out my brain. Today, while the boys napped, I had a great chance to be quiet and pray. (Funny, we never actually went sledding today….there is always tomorrow.) It was so calming and peaceful. I certainly realize how much I need that in this time that feels stressful to me. I sense all sorts of fears bubbling up to the surface again. Will people still like me? Have we changed? Where will we live? Will our house be what I hope for? Can we make it? Will we be ok? Where will we Worship? Will we get re-situated in a new spiritual community?

I think the more I think about those fears and questions, the more stressed out I become. So instead, I am taking a big mental Shepherd’s hook and pulling those things off the stage of my heart and just telling God that I trust Him, I believe Him (Jer. 29:11-13) and I will wait for Him and seek Him. This has helped a lot!

This weekend we have a lot going on. It’s so funny to me how quickly our schedule got so busy. Truly I think that the schedule is going to stay at a quick pace and I am going to have to be the one to adjust. I’m used to a much slower pace. I have all these goals and things I want to accomplish as a Mom, a wife, a friend, a sister, a daughter and a grandaughter. There doesn’t seem to be enough of  me or the clock. So I’m praying for the Lord to help me pace myself.

Oh yes, and a praise must go up after my last blog. I was shocked to learn on Wednesday that we were preapproved for a home loan. I seriously thought that with Jeremy’s pay at Sprint being as far from what we hoped as it is going to be, that we wouldn’t get approved or be able to swing it financially. In my mind, we were apartment bound! But God knew. We were approved! And for more than I thought. It’s a good and workable amount. We are actually trying to go much less than we were approved for even. We know things will be really tight this first year. I may still have to go back to work part time. I’m praying that even that would be something that God would bless and make fun for me if that is the case. Maybe I can find a writing gig :D.

However, we’ve learned a lot about doing without. I seriously remember times when I didn’t think our pantry could support us until pay day. But God made a way and provided every time. He is faithful.

Wow..that went way downward. Sorry! I am still full of hope and eager expectation for the days ahead. Our lender told us that the earliest we would be able to close is the end of February. I’m praying that we find a house in the next couple of weeks so that March sees us moving again!

In the mean time, Mr. Chase turns 2 in just a couple of weeks. Superbowl weekend we’ll be having a party somewhere…I dunno where. I’ve gotta get it all worked out. I have a theme, I’ve thought up a guest list….now I need to find a location that fits. Fun times huh?

For now, life is up and down but fun. So much is still before us. I don’t imagine God to be revealing the big plan to us anytime soon and I’m pretty happy with that. I’d probably throw up if He did that. Thanks for helping me sort out my brain tonight peeps. Writing is such good medicine.

 

5 thoughts on “My Attempt to Sort Out My Post-Move Brain

  1. Praying God will give you peace during this transition, and the house thing will work out for you all. Glad you guys made it safely.

    Reminds me a bit of when we moved here, remember that? No friends, church, etc.? God will work it out – he always does time and time again. He love you!

Leave a Reply

