“If human wisdom were enough to solve the world’s problems, we’d have already gotten rid of war, famine and disease. And we’d have no need of God.”

I came across this quote a few weeks ago, right before election time. I really liked it and it made me chuckle a little bit amidst all the giant promises and mud slinging of the campaign commercials. I mean, I just wanna watch Grey’s Anatomy people. I don’t believe that you can do as much as you say you can. My hope ain’t in you people….sheesh…

But that brings me to my thought for today, which is, boy do I need the Lord. Sing it with me;

1. "I need thee every hour, most gracious Lord; 
	no tender voice like thine can peace afford. 
Refrain:
	I need thee, O I need thee; 
	every hour I need thee; 
	O bless me now, my Savior, I come to thee.

2.	I need thee every hour; stay thou nearby; 
	temptations lose their power when thou art nigh. 
	(Refrain) 

3.	I need thee every hour, in joy or pain; 
	come quickly and abide, or life is vain. 
	(Refrain) 

4.	I need thee every hour; teach me thy will; 
	and thy rich promises in me fulfill. 
	(Refrain) 

5.	I need thee every hour, most Holy One; 
	O make me thine indeed, thou blessed Son. 
	(Refrain)

Whew! I love that song. I wish I could change it to “I Need Thee Every Second” though. I dunno if I can make it a whole hour some days. 😀

I feel like God is taking my soul through boot camp lately. It’s all good stuff that I need to hear and work through. My heart and soul have been all bunched up like a pretty silver necklace chain. You know how they get all twisted in knots and you have to break out a needle and patiently and gently pull and unravel it so that it can be set free? That’s me.

It’s all turning out well though. I’ve been praying that God would help me let go of some of the things I’m tightly clutching regarding our upcoming move and huge change in life. I feel like there are a bunch more knots that are being more stubborn then others, but we’re working through it. I’m gently laying my requests at His feet and I’m praying that I will still be open to whatever He does with them.

In the mean time, ugh, I also need the Lord to help me get through daily life. Amidst the laundry and the school stuff and the bills and the never ending list of stuff that keeps needing to get cleaned-AHHHHHHHHHH! Why can’t stuff just stay clean?

I bet God thinks that sometimes too, huh?

Alright, I feel much better after whining, er, um, I mean writing this post. I am now off to scour the internet for fun craft ideas for Thanksgiving. Fun and meaningful exercises in gratefullness will be occuring. Be forewarned future guests!

 

3 thoughts on “I Need Thee Every Hour

  1. We had a Hymn Sing at church last night and it was really fun! So many of the old hymns that we don’t really sing much anymore. Great meaning and Great harmonies! Even though I was dog tired, it was very rejuvenating! Isn’t that how God works?!

  2. Interesting you should mention needing the Lord every second, and not just every hour. Did you know that another hymn, “Moment by Moment” was written for just that reason. You can read the story here…
    http://wordwisehymns.com/2010/03/04/today-in-1901-daniel-whittle-died/

    If you enjoy reading about our hymns and their authors, I invite you to check out on a regular basis my daily blog on the subject Wordwise Hymns.

    And if you’ll excuse a brief “commercial:” If you do not have a good book on the subject of our Christmas carols, I encourage you to take a look at my own, Discovering the Songs of Christmas. In it, I discuss the history and meaning of 63 carols and Christmas hymns. The book is available through Amazon, or directly from Jebaire Publishing. (Might make a great gift too!)

Leave a Reply

