As I type this, Cooper is screaming “STOP!!!” as Jeremy pins him to the ground. Chase is squealing with laughter. Cooper has been requesting a wrestling match with Dad since almost the second he saw him. Much laughter is going on in this house this morning.

Today, both the boys were so excited to see that Jeremy was still here when they woke up. I love, love, love watching the looks on their faces as they realize all the things they have been missing. Chase knew Jeremy immediately by the way. Thank you Jesus and Skype.

I have had a lot of unexpected emotions with this homecoming. It’s been hard for me to let them out because it feels so weird that there is some sadness mixed in this. But the sadness is really just release of sadness I think.

Yesterday was an emotional day to be sure. But it was made so very wonderful by all our friends! Our small group all got up at 3:00 am so that they could be at the gym to wait with me at 4:00 am! I don’t think I could have made it through that morning without them. It was perfect. πŸ˜€ Thanks you guys. I don’t think you realize how much that meant to Jeremy and I.

Together Again!

We do have video of the early morning events-it’s long though so we will probably edit out the “boring” parts. πŸ˜€ It’ll be up soon.

In the mean time, Washington had a high of like 50 on Monday and 96 yesterday. Today it is supposed to be hot again, so I think we are going to try and go somewhere to beat the heat a.k.a. borrow someone else’s AC (or play in some water).

Here is a list of the things I love so far:

-waking up and seeing Jeremy there (at first I jumped a little)
-seeing Chase choose Daddy over me
-watching Jeremy melt at all the little antics of both boys
-having someone else make coffee and shut down the house at night
-already dreaming about what’s ahead

10 thoughts on “Initial Thoughts After Homecoming

  1. oh tiff…i was all teary eyed yesterday just thinking about all the different emotions you must have been feeling. wow!! i am sooooooo excited and relieved with you that your honey is home now!! i wish i could have been a fly on the wall to see him hug you all!!! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ sending a hug and lots of love!!!! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  2. We were glad to be a part of it as well and happy to make it! Thanks for letting us share the experience and we are so happy to have him home and look forward to a quality Nevcalfe reunion tour! Brayden wants to tell everyone we see about Mr. Jeremy coming home…

  3. This is a very special time and I am so excited for you and for us! The tears are just flowing and I was just soooo excited yesterday for you and can’t wait to see the video! You have very special friends here in STL and in WA; of course, the mom in me says it’s because YOU BOTH are very special friends. While I know this has not been an easy experience, I think it has been a really great time of growth, growing closer to our Lord, closer as a family and closer as friends. People have been able to serve and be served, what a blessing! As a parent, it’s fun to hear the excitement in your child as you talk to him and even though you are not visually seeing them, you still know that look that is on their face. We love you and are so glad that the family is together again. Yes, as much as we would have loved to have been there, I am so glad that you had this time to share with the special people in WA. We definitely experienced from afar and it was great, the overwhelming love and support.

  4. i cannot imagine how big the smiles are for everyone in your household!
    alisha and i are so extremely proud of you guys for enduring this… now get off the computer and enjoy each other for a while!

  5. Rejoicing with you! Watched the video and prayed for your sweet family and those whose husbands/sons/brothers/fathers did not come home- God is good and He is glorified in Jeremy’s coming home! Praying now for rest and joy in your home as you readjust! Bill and Jen

  6. Lee and I watched the video yesterday and I cried like a baby. Sloan was all, “Mom, why are you CRYING? This is good. He’s home!” I’m just so happy and excited and glad and wishing you guys were here so I could hug you. Love you guys so much! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

