Alright. I have lived here for 3.5 years now. I get it. It rains here – a lot. But seriously? I don’t think I can take much more of this. I literally feel a little bit looney. According to Wikipedia, Seattle has an average of 201 cloudy days per year and 91 partly cloudy days per year. That means that we have 73 days of sunshine per year.

…73

Pardon me while I go throw up.

It isn’t really the rain that bothers me. It’s the lack of sunshine so many consecutive days in a row. Wikipedia is quick to point out that there are lots of other places in the U.S. that receive more rainfall on an annual basis, but like I said, it’s the cloudy skies that are really the worst. Currently, the weather forecast is saying that the sun will come out on MONDAY OF NEXT WEEK.

I know that there is hope on the horizon…June is finally here and pretty soon, the rain will stop and we won’t see it again for a while. But what I really need is the sun.

I’m not even kidding when I tell you the following story. Yesterday, it rained all day. But at 3:00 pm, the sun started to peak through the clouds. I was driving and the thought that crossed my mind was that Jesus’ face is said to be brighter than the sun. The Bible says that in Heaven, the only light we’ll have will be the light from God himself. We won’t need the sun (or maybe even have it?) because we’ll have the Son. (A little cheesy Christian humor for you-you’re welcome.)

I told Jesus right then and there that I NEEDED some light and I knew he could give it since he IS the light. The sun stayed out for the rest of the afternoon (and then it started raining again). I’m praying the 3 hours of sunshine I saw will carry me….I dunno if I can make it to next Monday though. SHEESH!

Can somebody tell me what it’s like to be warm?

Leave a Reply

