I’m currently having a great debate with myself concerning my boys and all their toys.  I have this thing about “stuff”…I like it to have a home all it’s own. I can barely keep track of my own “stuff”, so it is really overwhelming when the kids’ stuff starts to get out of control. The toy baskets and bins in Cooper’s room are now completely overflowing. This can only mean one thing in my house…

…It’s time to get rid of some toys.

The only problem is I get hung up on a few issues:

1. Toys that are currently not played with are toys that Chase will soon enjoy, so I am leery to totally get rid of them.
2. Whenever I discuss departing from some toys or giving some to Chase, he’s not a fan. (Not that his opinion would stop me though!)
3. I already do the “toy rotation” idea where I skim the surface of all his toys, throw them in a rubbermaid bin and put them in the garage for a couple months. Then when Cooper starts to ask me for new toys or begins acting unhappy with what he has, I just bring out the “new” toys and skim the top of the “old” toys and then it is their turn for rotation.
4. My garage is already full of stuff!

I know Jeremy and I are still interested in more children too. So something a kiddo doesn’t enjoy now could be enjoyed later by not just Chase, but another child!  Chase loves all of his brother’s toys so much that he prefers to play in Cooper’s room over playing with his toys in his room. I would really like to have the toys be posessions that they share rather than own individually. I’ve even gone so far as to try not to say “this is Cooper’s toy” or “this is Chase’s toy” to them.

I would ideally like to cut the amount of toys Cooper especially has in 1/2. I would adore the idea of giving the toys that are gently used to someone who really needs them or will at least thoroughly enjoy them.

Got any new ideas for me peeps? I don’t want to do Goodwill because I want the toys to be given for free. I want the boys to understand that life is not all about “stuff” and when you have as much “stuff” as we have, it is nice to share some of it with kiddos who don’t have as much as we have been blessed with in our life.

Leave a Reply

