Cooper and Chase seem to fluctuate sleep patterns with the seasons/amount of light entering the house in the mornings. A couple of weeks ago, when it was still dark and drab at 6 and 7 am, the boys were sound asleep. In fact, both of them would sleep until 8 or even 9 if I didn’t wake them up.

But now that the sunshine is peaking through the blinds at an earlier hour, my children are also rising earlier. Coop is up at 6:30/6:45 am and Chase is closer to 6:55/7:00 am. Who needs an alarm clock right?

On school mornings, I get up and take a quick shower at 6:55/7:00 am and then get Chase up and start the morning (while Cooper plays). Well this morning, something precious happened.

I was getting out of the shower and the door to the bathroom started to open. Cooper was REALLY excited and said, “MOM! Come see what I did!”. I’m thinking to myself “greeeaaattt….” and things that are not good are running through my head. (Luckily, Chase was not screaming so I could cross that off the list pretty quick.)

I kicked Coop out of the bathroom and finished getting dried and dressed. When I opened the door again, there was Cooper with this brightly beaming smile all across his face. He was bouncing up and down on his tip toes saying, “C’mon Mommy, C’mon Mommy, come SEE!” He leads me into my bedroom and I immediately see this:

Cooper made my bed for me!

…and Cooper says, “Ta-DAAAAA!” He then proceeds to explain that the green blanket was tough and he couldn’t get it right even though he really tried. My heart melted!

5 thoughts on “Random Acts of Kindness

Leave a Reply

