I have a lot of things that I like to do and like to experience. I like to cook; it is my stress reliever. When I cook, I often envision my Grandmother Smith blissfully cooking in her kitchen all the while humming a beautiful song.

The other thing I love to do is garden. For that love, I thank my sister and both sides of Grandparents.  It’s a thing I really started to enjoy when we bought our very first house in Fenton 6 years ago.

Back Yard Garden on Green Jade

See that lovely little flower bed? My sister and I busted our booties in the hot, hot, hot, St. Louis summer digging through countless layers of clay and rock to create that flower bed. My sister actually planned it all out for me and even bought the flowers for me! It was a shining accomplishment for us! I seriously think that is when all my joy from working with the dirt started.

Then we moved to Washington. This place is like a gardener’s dream! I adore all the options for growing things and I have developed such a love of plants just as I go to the garden shops each spring to see what I will play with this year. I have learned so much and it has been so much fun.

I especially love driving through neighborhoods and just seeing what people are growing. I’m always amazed at how many people have such lovely yards! I mean, Calla Lillies grow in people’s yards here! How crazy is that?

Anyway, my dream garden is a kind of cottage garden. I love plants that are flowy and drapey and bushy.  Lavender and black-eyed susans, fox gloves and snapdragons, hyacinth, hydrangea, peonies, poppies, cottage roses, cosmos, purple coneflower, delphinium, rhodondendron and all the like. AH! I swoon!

I don’t know much about gardening, but I love, love, love learning and experimenting each summer. I hope that when we buy a house one day that it has a beautiful space for all my dreams of flowers. And when I am an old lady, I plan to be a crazy gardening lady with long hair, dangly earrings, a big hat and gardening gloves walking through the garden and talking with my grandbabies about the beauty of the earth! I think I’m ready for spring….

2 thoughts on “Dreaming of Gardens

  1. You’re funny. I admire your interests. I have come to enjoy cooking pretty well, but I am happy for now to have a completely rock yard. When we had a home in STL, I learned that gardening takes more time and $$ than I ever realized. I can totally see myself getting into gardening more in the “empty nest” phase of my life because I do dig plants. Right now there are too many other things to keep alive!

Leave a Reply

