Jeremy holding a sign that says "I love you and miss you!" and standing in front of a Stryker
Jeremy holding a sign that says "I love you and miss you!" and standing in front of a Stryker
A VERY tired looking Jeremy in what looks like the Stryker maybe?
A VERY tired looking Jeremy in what looks like the Stryker maybe?
Jeremy with his friends and teammates, (L-R) Kennedy (a.k.a. Debbie Downer) and Troche
Jeremy with his friends and teammates, (L-R) Kennedy (a.k.a. Debbie Downer) and Troche
Jeremy with Lt. Z...they keep switching their name plates playing pranks on guys...everyone thinks they look like they could be brothers...
Jeremy with Lt. Z...they keep switching their name plates playing pranks on guys...everyone thinks they look like they could be brothers...
Jeremy doing a little self portrait action
Jeremy doing a little self portrait action

Sometimes, it is just really good to see his face! I had a special treat in my email inbox today from Lt. Z’s wife, Brenda. Her hubby sent her a cd of pictures and she shared these with me! It was so fun to see Jeremy’s face.

Then, tonight, we received a DVD in the mail that Jeremy had told me about previously. There was a service that the Chaplains had set up where the soldiers could go into a room (that had AC no less) and video record themselves reading books to their kiddos! Jeremy did it and Cooper just LOVED it. Mommy loved it too.

Coop and Chase watching Daddy read them stories!
Coop and Chase watching Daddy read them stories!
Glued to Daddy TV!
Glued to Daddy TV!

It was super cute to watch them. Chase was watching when he wasn’t playing with his toys…Cooper could hardly contain his excitement. He was jumping all around and talking to the television. It was really cute! I hope he can do another one or 5! What a treat!

Tonight, we had an F.R.G. meeting. It had some great information and was really helpful. If you are on the email list, you should have received my little update. If you’re not and you want to be, just comment here and I’ll add you.

Here is a neat article about the switch the 5/2 made from Iraq to Afghanistan. It mentions the Arabic class Jeremy was in and how they had to stop the class and change gears. It’s a fun read. Also, there is a fun website, Stryker Brigade News, that has consolidated all the news reports concerning the Army’s Stryker Brigades into one place, which is helpful when you are trying to weed through the info.

Finally, here are some beautiful flowers that I like to say Jeremy “bought” me at the market last Saturday.

What a steal for $8.00!
What a steal for $8.00!
Bouquet from the Puyallup Farmer's Market last weekend
Bouquet from the Puyallup Farmer's Market last weekend

Ok, so Jeremy didn’t pick them out and give them to me…it was his paycheck that bought them so I say Jeremy bought them for me! He he he he! He would’ve if he was there too. Babe, they smell AMAZING! The downstairs smells like Stargazer Lillies…mmmmmm fresh and beautiful! I think this may be one of the prettiest bouquets I’ve gotten since we’ve lived in Seattle. And that’s a big deal because I love fresh flowers…and at $8.00 a bouquet..you can’t go wrong!

Chase and Cooper are doing good-though Cooper has had a rough week. We are working through it all. I think it is so hard for my little 4-year old’s heart. Poor baby!

The boys cuddling together on the couch
The boys cuddling together on the couch

Chase is growing, growing, growing and eating, eating, eating! So far he’s had sweet potatoes, chicken, pears, apples, bananas, a variety of cereals, avocado, cherries, and peaches. I need to get some green foods into him now. I make my own babyfood so I need to chop to it! Literally! HA!

Anyway, the kiddos and I are doing fine. I’m grateful for all my family and friends.  They have had such helpful ideas for things we can do so that Chase and Cooper have lots of reminders and contact with Jeremy while he is gone. A lot of people have asked what they can do to help me and the boys and honestly, the most wonderful thing of all is to visit with me if you are here in town! Ask me and the boys to lunch or dinner and just be with us! It feels like we are alone so much and that makes us feel Jeremy’s absence that much more.  And if you aren’t in town, shoot me an email! It’s nice to have other people to talk to and to hear what is going on in all your lives as well.

4 thoughts on “Nevil Family Update

  1. hey tif…
    i’m sure it was so special yet hard seeing jeremy’s pictures. how special that he was able to send a video of him reading books. wow, i can’t imagine how you must have felt seeing him. what a special idea!

  2. Love the post Tiff! How cute to see cooper just glued to the tv, I bet he just was beside himself. the flowers are so beautiful! It’s so nice to see pics of Jeremy over there and see he is doing well. Still looks the same! I can see a little of why they think Lt. Z is his brother..how funny. It’s nice to see they have a sense of humor and are having fun as well

Leave a Reply

