I only have time for a quickie post, but wanted to let you guys know that Jer is pushing out for Afghanistan. He will be in Quandahar for a while and then will go to the FOB (Forward Operating Base) that will be his post for the next year.  I’m not sure how long he’ll be in Q., just depends.

Anyway, the good news is that Jeremy thinks they might have CHU’s (Containerized Housing Unit) at the FOB! YAY! That means they might have trailers. Here is my friend Tiffany’s, husband’s blog-go there to see a picture of his CHU in Iraq. 🙂

I know I’m being spoiled absolutely ROTTEN in that I’ve gotten to talk to Jeremy every single day since he left. Yup, 5 days in a row we’ve talked. And sometimes multiple times a day. I have a feeling that is coming to a close though. I am trying not to get my hopes up, but you know how the heart can dream! We’ll see pretty quick here. He said tonight that we could not hear each other’s voices for the entire month of August! UGH! I’m hoping he is wrong. We’ll see…

In other news, it is a real challenge to know what to do with my children when Jeremy calls. I need to get creative here. Tonight was awful. Chase was screaming at the top of his lungs, Cooper was getting into stuff (like he COVERED himself in Germ-X) and just being generally ornery and disobedient. It would be fine if I knew when he was going to call, but it is always a surprise. So he catches us right in the middle of stuff sometimes. I tried getting Cooper to sit and color a picture for Jeremy while I’m on the phone. But his attention span for that lasts a whopping 7 minutes at the most. Then he’s done and disinterested.

I have had several conversations with him “in the moment” about how I need him to be quiet (it’s hard to hear Jeremy often) and play with his quiet toys when Daddy calls. But I think I need to have a chat with him just casually when Jeremy isn’t already on the phone.  We’ll see how that works.

Ok, I’m super-dee-duper tired. Went to Sequim this weekend for the Lavender Festival. AMAZING! So fun and so beautiful. Pictures much, much later in the week though.

P.S. Hi Shelly!!!

One thought on “Next Leg of the Journey for Jeremy

  1. Maybe you can have Coop watch a dvd orsomething when Jeremy calls. My kids seem to go completely insane when I’m trying to talk on the phone as well. That usually works to settle them down a little bit. Or maybe you can have a special snack for when Daddy calls that he only gets when Jeremy calls. Something that’s enticing but easy to serve while you’re on the phone!

Leave a Reply

