…Farmers Markets! By far, the Farmers Markets here in the area are -for me- the highlight of living in the Pacific Northwest. I’ve read about them and wanted to go to them for years (and always wanted to do a co-op) and now that they are so close, we go to them as much as possible. (pssttt! the picture in my header for this blog is taken from a Farmers Market!)

Puyallup Farmers Market Flower Vendors
Puyallup Farmers Market Flower Vendors

 Usually, we go to the Puyallup Farmer’s Market.  It’s to the point now where I have a few favorite vendors that I look forward to seeing each season. I’ve taken some beautiful pictures there and had some wonderful experiences.

The people are so kind, the veggies, fruits and fresh breads and pastries, meats and eggs are so wonderful and the flower arrangements are out of this world! Not to mention the neat gifts like hand-made toys, puzzles, games, clothing, jewelry, purses, home and personal care items you can find. They are almost always organic too.

cute diaper bag...
cute diaper bag...
mmmmmmmm fresh berries.....
mmmmmmmm fresh berries.....
beautiful handmade jewelry
beautiful handmade jewelry
crazy inventors like this guy who took an old bicycle and made it into a foot propelled lawn mower!
crazy inventors like this guy who took an old bicycle and made it into a foot propelled lawn mower!
pretty colors
pretty colors
The Market is always a blast. I always wish I had a couple hundred bucks to blow there! I know…sounds extravagent, but it’s just so fun. As much as I love markets, you’d think I’d diversify a bit right? Nope. I’ve only been to a couple (even if I have gone back to those few many, many times). We go to Pike’s at least once or twice in the summer (maybe 3 times if visitors are in town), we go to Puyallup at least 6+ times, and if we are out and about and stumble upon one we’ll go to it too. I think we went to one in Gig Harbor once….
Anyway, this weekend we are venturing out to the Olympia Farmer’s Market. I’ve heard wonderful things about it and I’m so excited to check it out.  Their website is really good at showing you all the vendors there and what they have available. And they even do co-ops!
Oh…ok, a co-op is where you pay a deposit on the land to the farmer, then you pay once a month for say, 3 months and in return you get a box of farm fresh veggies weekly delivered to you (or at a meeting place). Some of the vendors at the Olympia Market are saying they’ll bring you a box of fresh veggies, herbs, a fresh bouquet of flowers and several recipes to use with what is in the box. Fun huh? I have no idea how much they are asking for such a thing…but you know I’ll be asking!
I’m sure it’s expensive,  but hey…it’s a neat idea!
So that’s what we are doing this weekend. What are you doing this weekend and what do you love about where you live? (Check back Monday to see if I bought anything super cool!)
2 thoughts on “Summer in Washington Means…

  1. I did a co-op at Pike Place when I worked in Seattle and it was really cool! Got all kinds of fun different things and fun recipe’s to make different kinds of things. We love the farmers markets too!

  2. I LOVE the flowers! Although, I could never bring myself to buy cut flowers. I love the thought of them. Ok you should be happy with me now it updated, but not all the way.

Leave a Reply

