Lunch time at our house can get pretty um, dull. I have no problem with MY lunch…it’s getting the 3-year-old to eat something that’s good (both for him and in his opinion).

Usually, his lunch time consists of a rotation of the following items: peanut butter and jelly sandwhich, grilled cheese sandwhich, quesadilla, spaghetti-o’s, turkey with cheese and crackers, or macaroni and cheese. That’s seriously it. Not too exciting or particularly healthy. But the other day I was at Barnes and Noble shopping the discount book tables and I came across a cookbook, “Better Homes and Gardens Kid Favorites Made Healthy” and it was $7.58! SOLD!

I tried out one of the recipes on Cooper and his buddy Brayden the other day hoping they would like it-SUCCESS! So, here is the lunch Cooper and I made for ourselves today using recipes from the book. TASTY and sure to get you (and me) out of a lunch time rut. (These recipes serve 4 each)

Crunch PB & A Wrap
Crunch PB & A Wrap

Crunchy PB & A Wrap
4-7 or 8-inch flour tortillas
1/3 cup peanut butter
1 cup chopped apple (with the peel!)
1/4 cup low-fat granola (I used back to nature’s apple/blueberry)

1. Spread pb over each tortilla. Sprinkle with apple and granola. Tightly roll up tortillas, cut in half, serve.

(254 cal., 14 g fat, 3 g. sat. fat, 0 mg chol, 234 mg sodium, 28 g carb., 3 g. fiber, 8 g. protein)

Pineapple Coleslaw
Pineapple Coleslaw

Pineapple Coleslaw

1 1/2 cups packaged shredded cabbage with carrots (coleslaw mix)
1/4 cup pineapple tidbits (I used 1/2 can of chunks)
2 T vanilla, low fat yogurt
2 T light mayo
1/4 cup honey-roasted peanuts, chopped
*1/4 cup halved pecans (cause I don’t like peanuts)
-and then I added a couple things…
*1/3 cup golden raisins
*1/4 cup chopped apple
*a couple squirts of lemon juice to keep it freshy-fresh tast’in

1. In a small bowl, combine all ingredients, toss to mix. Spoon into 4 containers.

original recipe (75 cal, 4 g fat, 1 g sat. fat, 2 mg chol, 109 mg sodium, 9 g carbs, 1 g fiber, 2 g. protein) * I have no idea how many calories it has the way I made it…but I think it was way yummier…is that a word?

Oh and it was fun to let Cooper help me!

Chef Cooper
Chef Cooper

 

He liked it and has no idea it's coleslaw!
He liked it and has no idea it's coleslaw!

 

Happy lunch time to you!

3 thoughts on “Curing the Lunch Time Blah’s!

  1. Okay girl! You are in my brain! I was just sitting here doing some research b/c I’m in that same lunch rotation rut! Haha! Love the recipes and we’ll be having PB&A wraps tomorrow! Thanks for the ESP goodies! XOXO
    Love ya,
    OT

Leave a Reply

