Last night at our Bible study, all the wives were laughing and talking about how slow blog traffic has been on all our blogs lately. We are obviously busy! We aren’t writing much and we aren’t reading much. But that certainly doesn’t mean a lot isn’t going on!

That goes for our family too. I’ve been trying to juggle our new state of “normal” all the while dealing with hormones, trips, milestones (I turn 30 on Monday and it is messing with me a bit), Jeremy’s return to work and eventual deployment, etc. You get the picture! WHEW!

For starters, the amount of things I can ACTUALLY accomplish in the course of the day and the PERCEIVED amount I can accomplish are drastically different.  When all your sense of worth is tied up in that stuff, it’s kind of a downer. There were days in the beginning where Jer would come home and ask me how my day was/what I did and I just kind of looked at him and said, “um, I fed the baby?”. But we are slowly getting past that stage. I got the beds made, a shower, all the people dressed, my hair fixed and 2 bathrooms cleaned and now I’m actually updating my blog. That’s impressive for me!

Tonight, we are going to an open house at Pugent Sound Christian School to check out the school and the teachers etc. We are considering putting Cooper into preschool there this fall. It would be 3 days a week for a couple hours in the morning. I’m trying not to freak out. He’s so big. Today, I was giving him a bath (because he won’t have time to get one later) and I couldn’t believe how big he is! He stretches out to the full length of the tub now. And his face looks so grown up. It’s lost the baby chubbiness and taken on a lean childlike look to it.  I think it might be time to teach him to wash his own hair!

Anyway…Jeremy goes back to his unit tomorrow. Today is his last day of Arabic class and he is just thrilled to the kilt. I’m very grateful for the class and all the time it gave us together this past year. His help was so priceless to me when I was crazy prego! And having him home for Chase’s birth was pretty special too.

Hmmm…Chase is 6 weeks old this week! He just found his fists yesterday and started sucking on them. It is SO cute! He found his thumb too. Sorta by mistake. It’ll be funny to watch him rediscover that find. He is laughing and cooing and smiling a plenty at us. It just melts us to the core.

march-2009-079

froggy-chase-1

Cooper is acting out and being annoying. But he’s so sweet and cute too. It’s frustrating at times, but I know he’s just trying to figure out this new “normal” too and I’m praying my heart will be empathetic yet still hold the standards.

Well, Chase is rousing and I gotta get going! I’m sure you are all experiencing the same busy-ness we are lately. Oh yeah! Jeremy bought our tickets and we’ll be in St. Louis April 7-April 19.  I’ll be in touch with all of you soon to plan out some time together! Gotta run!

One thought on “The Busy Life of New Parents!

Leave a Reply

