One of the greatest things about my pregnancy with Chase was that I kept my weight in major check. I only gained about 30 lbs this time around (compared to A LOT more with Cooper). So, after I had him, I lost that weight pretty quick. I’m only 10 lbs or so away from my pre-baby weight. That’s awesome! Especially since I only had the guy about 4 weeks ago! YAY! It took me so much longer to loose the weight after Cooper.

I took advantage of the fact that I can get into my jeans (well, some of them) and I put away all my maternity clothes. Then, I cleaned my closet out and gathered a huge bag of stuff to take to Goodwill. The problem is that I realized something just terrible…I hold on to stuff in my closet waaaaaaaaaayyyyy too long. I could be one of those gals on What Not To Wear. I mean, my tennis shoes that I use for working out or doing any kind of strenuous activity are the same shoes I bought when Jeremy and I were dating (i.e. almost 10 years ago). I have a sweatshirt (that I  LOVE) which I have pictures of me wearing as a freshman in college (again, almost 10 years ago).  The same goes for all but one pair of my shorts. YIKES! Awesome that I can still wear them, but um, maybe I should buy a new sweatshirt or some new shorts.

Those 10 extra lbs are setting nicely on my tummy…so my shirts well, they are not looking too hot on me either.  I don’t have any desire to show off the post baby muffin top, you know? Basically, my wardrobe is a sad, sad little thing right now.

So I did some looking online to see where I want to shop. I need good deals to stretch my dollars, but I also need cute stuff so I don’t feel like a frumpy, lumpy, mommy. And I’m short on time since I’m carting a newborn and a 3-year old with me (and a husband!). Today, we hit Old Navy and Marshalls and I was severly disappointed. Everything is so tight!  I mean, we finally get longer shirts in style, when can we get something less skin-tight?

I ended up with just 2 shirts and some yoga pants…because of those 10 lbs that are causing me so much trouble. BLAH! I was so disappointed. This calls for major shopping and I just don’t have time for that!

Not to mention that the weather here isn’t really going to get any warmer until June. I can wear jeans and long sleeve t-shirts till then. But the stuff in the stores is all warm-weather stuff. Double blah!

So all that whining to say that it is tough to be a good-looking mamma. I am no diva of style or anything, but I want to look nice so that I feel good about myself and so that my hubby feels good about me too. I know I don’t have to impress him, but it is still fun to do!

Maybe this has something to do with the fact that I am turning the big 3-0 this March.  I’m feeling a little old, a little less attractive and a little less relevant and I just don’t like that feeling. I’m reminding myself that there is WAY more to life than what I look or feel like…but it’s rough some times!

With people losing their jobs left and right and the economy being in a hard place, I should truely be grateful that I even am able to shop for some new clothes. I know a lot of people can’t even go there and stay miles away from stores so that they won’t think of what they can’t have. Maybe all I need is a new take on things; a new perspective.

4 thoughts on “Post Maternity Wardrobe Woes…

  1. You need to hit up the Supermall . . . probably without Cooper, but Chase could sleep in the stroller. It’s the best place EVER! And, loose fitting shirts are the thing right now, which I was grateful for last winter when I was in the same boat as you . . . about 10 lb. over my pre-baby weight and a “muffin top” . . I hate that. Supermall. Get there. 🙂

  2. You are absolutely gorgeous lady! I seriously think you still look like you are 26, 27. Let me know when you find a cute place to shop, where the shirts aren’t so skin tight. i don’t like them either! 🙂

  3. Sometimes you just need to keep those maternity clothes out a little longer. The tops are longer, the styles are so fashionable and they are so much more comfortable. You’re doing great to be back in most of your clothes so soon, just be patient.
    http://www.newmommyteesandjeans.com

  4. i’m no fashion guru, but spring scarves and chunky jewelry can go a long way in spicing up long sleeve t-shirts….cute shoes don’t hurt either. you don’t want to spend much $$$ till you drop that last 10 pounds anyway. i think i remember that breastfeeding burns like 500 extra calories a day. you’ll have those extra pounds gone in no time!

Leave a Reply

