Ok ladies, time to weigh in on a mommy question I have concerning toys and the cleaning up of them…

Here’s the scoop. I’m a weirdo about having a clean/picked up house. I make no qualms about it. I just feel yucky when my house is a mess, I feel relaxed when it’s not. So I don’t like it when there are toys all over the place for an extended period of time.  Since I made the move to stay-at-home-mom, I have instituted the rule that clean up is part of play.

Therefore, if Cooper is playing in his room upstairs and he wants to go downstairs, he has to clean his toys up in his room first. Likewise if we are downstairs and he wants to go upstairs to his room to play; gotta clean up the toys downstairs before the change of venue.

So my question is, what do you do? Do you or your kids clean up once a day in one en masse gig? Do you or your kids clean up as you go? What do you do?

I’d do a poll with voting,…but poll daddy and wordpress don’t seem to be talking to each other well right now…so just leave your comments!

2 thoughts on “Mommy Question: Clean Up Routines

  1. Lee and I do not 100% agree on this. He leans more towrad you in that he wants the kids to clean up before moving on to the next thing. I, personally, don’t have it in me to enforce that because they move so quickly from one thing to another that I think I’d be harping on them all day long. Plus, now with three of them, someone’s always playing with something else or in a different room and there aren’t enough of me to go around. So, I have them pick up before naps, before dinner and before bed. That way the house stay sin relative order, I’m not going crazy, butt hey have the freedom to play as they wish. That’s what seems to work best for me.

  2. You’d hate living in my house! While I do LOVE order and organization, I, like Kelli, do not have it in me to keep after the boys all day long to clean up their stuff…and I never have. They are too busy with different things (and keep themselves busy lots of the time) to make them clean it up after every activity. We have a playroom that gets cleaned up about 3 times a week. Other than that, if they have toys sitting around the rest of the house, they get put away in the late afternoon/evening.

    I instituted “playroom clean up days” so that the boys know it’s time to take care of their stuff AND they know it’s not my responsibility to clean up after them. We set a timer and get it done in 10 minutes or less most of the time. The boys also know that they are responsible for picking up things that they don’t want Jack Henry eating or destroying. They don’t always remember, and we’ve had tears, but they’ll learn.

    That’s what works for us!

Leave a Reply

