You can tell it’s a busy fall blog-wide. None of you have updated your blogs all week! You’re killing me. He he he…obviously I have way too few children and way too much time on my hands. It’s glorious!

So in light of said time, here’s a recipe for you. While my mom was here we made apple butter in the crock pot and it was so fantastic. One note though, Nicole made it and used Jonagold apples golden delicious apples-she said they were overly juicy and that the cooking time needed to be dramatically increased. She ended up just draining off the reserve liquid. I can’t remember the apples I used…they were yellow, and I didn’t have this problem. Just be cautious of your apple choice and happy cooking! (As Mr. Food says…”It is sooooooooo good!”)

(This picture is the before pic as the apples are going in. It turns into a lovely gloopy moosh that is pure heaven!)

Crock Pot Apple Butter

 

4 pounds cooking apples, peeled, cored and sliced (about 12 cups)

2 cups sugar

1/3 cup water

2 Tablespoons cider vinegar

2 Teaspoons ground cinnamon

¼ teaspoon ground cloves

¼ teaspoon ground allspice

1/8 teaspoon ground nutmeg

 

  1. Place apple slices in a crock pot (sprayed lightly with non-stick cooking spray). Stir in sugar, water, vinegar, cinnamon, cloves, allspice and nutmeg.
  2. Cover; cook on high-heat setting 5 to 6 hours. Stir. Cool at least 1 hour, or cover and chill overnight.  Ladle apple butter into half-pint storage jars or freezer containers, leaving a ½ inch of headspace. Seal and label. Store 3 weeks in refrigerator of for 1 year in freezer. Makes 4 half pints.

 

Nutrition facts per 2 tablespoons: 71 cal, 0g fat, 0mg chol, 1mg sodium, 18g carb, 1 g fiber, 1 g prot.

4 thoughts on “Crock Pot Apple Butter

  1. just for the record: i used golden delicious! but it’s really yummy. my friend olivia introduced me to apple butter/cream cheese combo on a bagel and it’s sooo good.

  2. Sounds delicious!! I’m beginning to love anything I can put in the crock pot. I love the whole put it in and just walk away thing!!! Can’t wait to try it!!

  3. I have a crock pot apple butter recipe too! Mine uses honey and brown sugar to sweeten. I also use a a variety of apples and like the flavor of a mix a lot. It has been a recent family tradition to make this every year but I passed this year with Rob gone.

Leave a Reply

