I hate to exercise. Really, I’m not kidding. LOATHE it.  (Which is funny because all my friends in St. Louis are such happy little perky fitness guru’s-you all stink!) I can think of about 10 million things I’d rather be doing besides exercising at all times. I believe it goes like my dad says, “Have you ever seen a runner smiling? No, because running stinks.” You go Dad.

It isn’t the exercise itself that I don’t like, it’s the process that I don’t like. I don’t like having to pay to go to the gym, having to find time in my schedule to squeeze it in, feeling like I need a certain kind of clothes to wear to the gym (flash to the scene in Romy and Michelle’s Highschool Reunion where they have matching outfits to work out in-so funny-I’ll look for the YouTube of that momentarily. Darn…don’t have it).

I don’t like feeling like everyone is staring at me either-especially guys. Working out is embarrassing.  What movie is that where Will Farrell is trying all the different workout machines? It’s like that. Working out is yucky in my mind. I guess I need that movie clip too now, huh?

Sure, I always feel good once I get going on said exercise. My brain always says “Hey, I’m glad we actually got our big bootie here,” but the process stops me 99.9% of the time. The only thing that can get me to exercise is to somehow trick my brain into thinking that it’s fun; which is hard because I already told you that I totally loathe and despise it. 😀 That and finding some really annoying, perky, cute fitness gurus to drag me kicking and screaming to the gym. Love you girls!

The problem with all that is that I don’t like feeling chubby or feeling like other people perceive me as such.  So, the best option for me – since I haven’t been able to find anything fun and I don’t like feeling chubby, has been to just work out at home. That is, until this Christmas when my sweet mommy rocked my world with a great Christmas gift!  The Mom and Toddler fitness DVD by Parents.

Mom and Toddler Fitness I totally love this DVD. It is so fun and silly. I do not feel like I am working out when I’m doing this. I feel like I am playing with Cooper. The best part-he thinks I am playing with him too, so he does it with me. After I did this the first time with Cooper, he begged me to do it again the rest of the day. He’d say, “Let’s exercise mommy!” I was totally pooped when I was done too (and so was Cooper!). The next several days my whole body hurt. My abs, my bootie, my thighs-all the good stuff was sore. I couldn’t even suck my stomach in when I was sitting down because it hurt so much!

Anyway, I highly recommend this DVD to all my mommy AND daddy buddies. The DVD has an entire workout if you have a lot of time, or it has several break sessions that they call the ABC’S (which stands for Abs, Butt and thighs, Core and Stretching) if you don’t have a ton of time. Each exercise either uses your childs body as a weight/resistance or engages your child as you do and/or your child do the movement together.

There are 3 groups in the video, a mom with a 6 month-old, a mom with a 10 month-old and a dad with a 4 year-old; that way you can see how the exercise might change depending on how old your child is. AND! I tried doing this today when I was watching my friend’s son and the boys both loved it; we had such a blast. So you can do it with more than one child in the room.

Like I said, this video is great because Cooper loves it too. We get to act like crabs, monkeys, sumo wrestlers, soldiers, fish and more! He asks me to do it often and when I do, I feel like I have spent quality time playing with my son and showing him how much I love him by getting down on the ground to do these exercises with him. It is so much fun to be able to get the wiggles out of both mom and kids on a rainy, cold, winter day. 

So go to your local Target and pick this up or check it out on Amazon. If you go to Target, it’s over by the cards and the housewares aisle right across from the little girls/little boys clothing. It’s on an end cap with the sound escapes cd’s.

6 thoughts on “Exercising is Fun Again!

  1. Hi Tiffany! Thanks for posting this…I’m buying it too! I love this idea…and I know that the boys will make me exercise with them when they see how fun it is.

  2. Dan and I were just talking today about how we need to stay “moderately in shape” so that when the day comes that we can actually leave our house by ourselves to go biking or running or whatever, we won’t kill ourselves doing it. This sounds like fun, I think I’ll check it out, too!

  3. Ok, I got the DVD on Sunday & I’m still sore 2 days later!! LOVE IT!

    The instructor is a little annoying, but most of those instructors on DVDs are.

    Thanks for the recommendation!

Leave a Reply

