Cooper is crazy sick. I can only do my mommy assessment for so long-we finally have a doc appointment today after this long holiday weekend. I think it all started the week of Thanksgiving. I noticed a little cough on Monday and didn’t think much of it. But by Tuesday night it was worse and then really full blown on Wednesday-I was worried. It was the most intense at night – he’d have these coughing spasms where it was like he couldn’t breathe. I got out my handy-dandy pediatricians manual (from my most favorite pediatrician in St. Louis who I miss like the dickens!), and checked out my ideas – I decided it sounded like croup. But the book says there isn’t anything you can do about it in terms of curing it-no medicines or anything. Just humidifiers and liquids. So after a couple of really scary nights he does seem to be doing better. Until there was Friday….

On Friday, Cooper developed full blown pink eye. His eye has been leaking a green mucas…I know – it’s so gross! And of course, doctors don’t work on the weekends – especially holiday weekends. So I called the doc yesterday morning and got an appointment for today. Good thing because it’s spread to his other eye. Yesterday morning (and Saturday and Sunday morning ) he woke up looking like a pirate…his one eye was pasted shut with all kinds of dried mucas. YUCK! Arrrgggghhh me maties…

Then this morning, Cooper had BOTH eyes pasted shut. At 5 am, I heard him crying and bumping into the walls in his room. I went in and he was standing in the corner (behind the door), clutching blankie with his arms out trying to find the door to come into our room. He was a little freaked out over the fact that he couldn’t see. Jeremy had the glorious job of wiping the 1/4 inch thick crusties off his eyes this morning so he could open them! UGH!

So doctor today at 2:30pm. Thank God. Jer and I are so afraid we are going to get it next. Wouldn’t that just be perfect? We have family pics at the end of the month…hope it comes and goes long before then!

Leave a Reply

