EIB has been yuck. I don’t like it. And Jeremy told me last night that this is going to be a LOT harder than he originally thought. He’s been leaving the house at 5 every morning (or earlier some days) and not getting home until 6:30 or 7:00 pm. Then, he has had football games every night this week at 8. So he comes home, changes clothes, and he’s off again. It stinks. šŸ˜¦ It has given me just a taste of what it will be like when he is deployed. That may sound dumb or a little exagerrated…but it’s a lot. There is no one to destress with at the end of a crazy day, no one to discuss the things going on in your heart and mind…it’s going to be rough.

In the mean time, I should be grateful that I do get to see him, even if it is only to say “good night” and “good morning.” Please continue to pray for Jeremy. This EIB stuff is intense. To help explain what they are doing, they basically have stations or centers and each one is set up outside (they call them “lanes”). They have a task that they will be tested on at each station/center/lane. However, one task could involve 4 different tests on different aspects of the same thing. They need to get through 11 “lanes” each day. On Monday,….they got through 4. Yikes.

So it’s a day of standing in long lines to see what the task is, practicing the task and then getting a fake test on that task. It makes for long days. He’s pretty pooped when he gets home. And he has all next week of practicing, then the next week is testing all week. He really, really wants to get this EIB badge. It’s a big deal.Ā He has said if he gets it, he’s wearing his dress greens to church to sport his fancy badge on Christmas!

I’m excited to be home and even though it isn’t even Halloween yet, I feel like the Christmas season is so close. Today, I went to this huge Christmas show. It’s called the Tacoma Food and Gift Festival. (Thanks Crystal! It was SO fun!) It’s supposed to be the largest show in the pacific northwest…and I believe that. It was pretty big and Christmas-y. I’d say my only point of comparison would be the Festival of the Little Hills if it was all inside. Lots and lots of Christmas stuff today – it was fun and festive. They had the whole dome decorated and they had Christmas music playing over loud speakers!

It made me missĀ our family. I’ve been thinking about everything that has happened this year. All that we did to get here. I am just amazed. This has turned out to be much harder than I imagined on multiple levels. Sometimes I even wonder if it was the best thing for us. But, when I think about choosing the other path, it just reminds me that I would have always regretted it if we wouldn’t have taken the plunge. I’m sure Jer feels the same way. (At least he has said so in previous conversations.) I think we would have always wondered. It just would have been a different set of problems to deal with and struggle through.

Whew…sorry to be a drag! Anyway, Cooper asks me every day if today is the day we are going to go to “St. Woo-is”. Here are some cute things he’s been saying about it:
“my turn ride airpane St. Woo-is”
“I see aunt jess”
“hold Cowa’s hand”
“I see my cousins”
“I see Nick-play toys-play trains”
“I see Papa, I miss him”

He says those things a million times a day. He even asked to pray for Grandma and Papa last night. I can’t believe how much he is talking about St. Louis. It’s starting to drive me a little crazy. I guess I need to give him something else to talk about! I know the Grandma’s soak up those comments though. And Cooper seems pretty indiscriminat-any one of hisĀ Grandmas or Grandpas will do! Ā šŸ™‚

Well, it’s a beautiful day here. I’m going to get out and about while I still can.

Leave a Reply

