I think I’ve started 3 posts this past week and never gotten to finish them….I just keep deleting them and starting over! It’s been a rough couple of weeks here – 3 to be exact – my son just hit the terrible twos….

For the longest time, I thought it wouldn’t happen to him. I thought that Cooper would be a pretty even-keeled kid forever. So long as he isn’t hungry or overly tired, he’s easy-peasy. Not so anymore-those days seem long gone. In fact, I regularly ask myself, “What would super-nanny do?”. But when I ask that question of myself a horrible realization comes to mind-whenever Jo Frost goes over to some family’s house and the kids are drop-your-jaw nuts, it always ends up being a parental thing. You know? Seriously, think about it! When was the last time you saw an episode where the parents were doing everything right and the kid was just nuts? Then there wouldn’t be a show!

I don’t think I’m a bad mom or anything – I really don’t. I’m just extremely frustrated because I don’t know what to do. I keep telling Jeremy about it and he just says Coop is simply being a two-year old. My Parents As Teachers buddy, Candice, says that he is just exerting his individualism. His language is developed but not perfectly developed. He can communicate what he wants and he can get mad when he is told no. And that’s just it. You tell this kiddo no and WHEW! We regularly sing REM’s “It’s the End of the World as You Know It!”

He had his first all-out temper tantrum 2 Fridays ago -while I had company. He actually threw himself on the floor, kicking, screaming and flailing…wow. I just sat there – for a minute anyway – dumbfounded and saying to myself, “what is he doing?” and “who is this kid?”, I couldn’t believe what was happening.

Since then, there have been oh so many episodes….pushing around other kids, the afore-mentioned temper tantrums, screaming bloody murder as I walk through the mall and all the way home, throwing food, throwing toys. I am pooped. And I know I’ve got to stay consistant in my discipline and I’ve got to stay calm and cool – but this is just nuts!

I have since picked up my Dr. Sears baby book, my What to Expect the Toddler Years book and my Healthy Sleep Habits, Happy Child book – all good resources. Each book has had some good and helpful things in it, but it is still rough. It’s so hard to be brave enough to go somewhere with him not knowing what he’s going to do while we are out – but knowing I will not be a prisoner in my own home because my child is having some issues. It’s so hard sticking to my guns and divying out a good balance of discipline and mercy. ITS HARD I SAY! And then to get the house cleaned, do the bills, make dinner, do laundry, make doctor appointments, etc. That’s quite a handout. Whoever said being a stay-at-home mom isn’t work is smoking serious amounts of crack cocaine. I am exhausted at night.

So…all that griping is just to say that this is hard work. I know that there are no medals handed out, there are no trophies, no paychecks, no “employee of the month” rewards or anything like that. But I also know God sees me and knows my heart in all this – and that melts me just enough to get up and try again another day. And to pray for my little two year old who wants to be 19. UGH. Amy you are always right – praying helps.

Thanks for listening guys-that rant was needed on my part! I feel better. I just needed to vent a little steam…

One thought on “Terrible Two’s Have Arrived

Leave a Reply

