Our computer crashed yesterday. We aren’t sure how bad it is – we’ve got basic functionality from the old harddrive – but we think we got a bad harddrive when we bought a new one. (At least it is still under warranty) It’s a major bummer because we were so spoiled with a fast computer. Now it’s ssssllllllooooowwwwww. We’re checking with all our computer friends to see what we can do. (Thanks Andrew!)

My biggest fear is that we’ve lost our pictures. 😦 Lesson learned though – in the future I will burn all pics to cd’s.  Thank goodness we’ve got a lot on my flickr site. But if we did lose our pics, then we’ve lost a lot of Cooper’s baby pictures. I’m trying not to think about that. All the more reason I should’ve gotten my bootie in gear and printed them off.

Please pray for Andrew as he puts up with us and tries to figure out what is wrong 2600 miles away from us. Don’t worry John, we’ll be calling you too!

Yesterday we went to a company-wide bbq for Jeremy’s company (A-co). It was the first time the whole company has done something together and included the families. I met some of the wives and that was fun. Not a lot of wives though (3)- most of the guys are not married because they are sooo young. So of the wives I did meet, they were of higher rank-the CO’s wife, and two Sgt. wives. (Though I’ve always heard that wives do NOT have rank and are considered equals) The highest ranking guy that was there (he’s the Captain of the company i.e. CO) and he is obviously married with a 20 month old and one on the way any day. His wife was super nice. Too bad my son was kissing all over their little daughter. I was SO embarrassed. I know Cooper is lovie…but jeez! And then to make matters worse, he pushed her at one point. UGH! Jeremy is just a private you know. Which is so weird for everyone to grasp. I was introduced yesterday as Sergent Nevil’s wife! HA! The CO looked at me like, “huh? I don’t know of any Sgt. Nevil….”) I had to correct the gal and say, “um…my husband is a private. We’re just old”.

The neat thing is that this is an entirely new brigade/battalion (i always get those two mixed up). So anything that happens amongst the wives is all new ground open for paving. That’s a good thing – not to have any bad past history etc. Some of these wives have had bad experiences with wifely army groups and aren’t a big fan of that. There was talk of starting an FRG (which is a Family Readiness Group that does stuff for the company etc. Kind of like a club for A-company families for support and more). I volunteered to do the newsletter. 🙂 Which reminds me….I better start keeping track of what I’m volunteering for………

Today is a softball game with the NCO’s (non-commissioned officers) vs. the other enlisted guys.  Jeremy is playing right field, so Cooper and I will be cheerleading on the sidelines. I should make cookies or something…..

Oh-and I finished Blue Like Jazz. So good. I want to post something about one part of the book that really stood out to me. I’ll have to do that later though. Thanks Travis for letting me borrow that book and all the rest of Miller’s books! And Jo, I can’t wait to read Lamott. I’m going to pick up her book this weekend. I think I’ve read more books in the last couple of months than I have in years!  (which is so AWESOME!)

We are going to Mt. Rainier tomorrow. Jeremy has the day off and we have been wanting to go up there since we got here. I’ll take pics but who knows if the computer can handle them-for flickr posting. We’ll see. And we have a grown up party on Saturday! YAY! And we move in just a couple weeks. Yay, yay, yay, yay, YAY! (All the other Army wives say I should be uuber thankful to have my Mom-in-law here during that time. They say I’m spoiled. :))

Gotta run. Thanks to Heidi and Cindy for sending me emails. I promise to get back to you soon. We love you guys and miss you so much!

2 thoughts on “Harddrives and Army Wives

  1. “Mom-in-law” is thankful that it has worked out that way, God does have his timing, doesn’t He? We’ll have fun and I’ll get to see both places!!!!

  2. My hubby has a good record of retrieiving items on hard drives. I’m sure he’d be happy to look at it for you.

Leave a Reply

